PBA honored with Sports Tourism Tournament of the Year

Published December 7, 2022, 9:51 AM

by Manila Bulletin Sports

PBA Commissioner Willie Marcial (third from left) receives the Sports Tourism Tournament of the Year Award from Charles Lim (Founder and Chairman, Philippine Sports Tourism Awards) on Tuesday at the fifth Sports Tourism Awards held at the Quest Hotel inside the Clark Freeport Zone. Watching on are Caroline Uy (DOT Regional Director, Region III) and Atty. Chito Salud (Team Governor, Converge FiberXers).

The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) was given honor during the 5th Sports Tourism Awards held Tuesday at the Quest Hotel inside the Clark Freeport Zone.

The pioneering pro league in Asia was recognized with the Sports Tourism Tournament of the Year for mounting the 2020 Philippine Cup under a bubble set up at Clark at the height of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Commissioner Willie Marcial personally received the award consisted of a 15-inch gold trophy.

A creation of Raymundo Art Collection, the trophy features a variety of elements, each of which represents a component of Philippine Sports Tourism and its role in bringing the industry together.

Now on its 47th year, the league was recognized for its ‘resolute, passion, and commitment to basketball fans, and continued efforts in promoting the sport despite the challenges during the pandemic in 2020.’

The PBA was the first to mount a major tournament during the pandemic, staging the all-Filipino Cup at Clark behind a work force of more than 500 persons, including all 12 member teams.

Barangay Ginebra went on to win the championship at the expense of TNT in five games.

Other recognized with awards were the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) as National Sports Association of 2021, Cebu Pacific Air as Sports Tourism Airline of the Year, Clark Development Corporation as Sports Tourism Destination of the Year, and Quest Hotel as Sports Tourism Hotel of the Year.

Arrey Perez received the award in behalf of the SBP.

The PSTA helped boost sports tourism in the country since 2015.

It honors destinations, venues, local governments, sports associations, event organizers, and private companies which helped local sports tourism industry grow rapidly in recognition of their contributions to establishing the Philippines as a premier destination for sports tourism.