Lakas-CMD flexes new members from Albay; find out who they are

Published November 10, 2022, 4:45 AM

by Ellson Quismorio

The Speaker Martin Romualdez-led Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD) has once again flexed its recruitment muscle.

House Speaker Martin Romualdez (7th from left) administers the oath to 19 new Lakas-CMD members from Albay at the House of Representatives on Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2022. (Speaker’s office) afternoon.

This, after nine town mayors, six provincial board members and four city councilors from the province of Albay officially joined the party’s fold Wednesday afternoon, Nov. 9

Romualdez, the party president, administered the oath to the new members.

“We welcome our local government officials from Albay to our ranks. We are looking forward to having a productive engagement with them,” said Romualdez, the Leyte 1st district representative.

The nine Albay mayors who affiliated themselves with Lakas-CMD were Adrian Salceda of Polangui, Paul Garcia of Guinobatan, Wilfredo Maronilla of Libon, Sharon Escoto of Oas, Alan Arandia of Pio Duran, Carlos Irwin Baldo Jr. of Camalig, Carlwyn Baldo of Daraga, Dick Galicia of Rapu Rapu, and Joseling Aguas of Sto. Domingo.

Board Members Jesus Salceda Jr., Juan Miguel Salceda, Dante Arandia, Victor Ziga Jr., Melissa Abadeza, and Eva Lopez Ribaya, also joined the Lakas-CMD.

Meanwhile, Councilors Roberto Lucila, Luis Gutierrez and Sunshine Imperial of Legazpi City and Caroline Ziga-So of Tabaco City completed the newest group of Albay officials aligning themselves with one of the country’s oldest and biggest political party

Romualdez (Speaker’s office)

Lakas-CMD, whose “elders” include Pampanga 2nd district Rep. and former president Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, is the already the biggest political party in Congress. Pundits also describe it as the de facto ruling party of current administration due to sheer influence and membership alone.

House Majority Leader and Zamboanga City 2nd district Rep. Manuel Jose “Mannix” Dalipe, Ako Bicol Party-list Rep. Zaldy Co, Albay 2nd district Rep. Joey Sarte Salceda, former Ako Bicol Party-list Rep. Alfred Garbin, and other lawmakers witnessed the ceremony.