Intensity II earthquake felt in Muntinlupa 

The magnitude 7 earthquake (initially put at 7.3 magnitude) that hit Abra at 8:43 a.m. on July 27 was felt in Muntinlupa and sent people out of buildings.

According to the Muntinlupa City Department of Disaster Resilience and Management, the earthquake registered Intensity II at 8:46 a.m. in the city based on the Philippine Earthquake Intensity Meter Network.

Muntinlupa City government employees and private individuals wait outside the Muntinlupa City hall after a magnitude 7 earthquake hit the province of Abra on July 27. (Photo from Muntinlupa PIO)

At the Muntinlupa City hall, employees and people who were transacting in different offices immediately went out to evacuate after feeling the earthquake.

No damages to structures due to the earthquake were reported in Muntinlupa as of this writing.

According to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs), the earthquake’s location was in Tayum, Abra with a depth of 17 km.

The reported intensities in the different areas in the Philippines are:

Intensity VII - Bucloc and Manabo, Abra

Intensity VI - Vigan City, Sinait, Bantay, San Esteban, Ilocos Sur; Laoac, Pangasinan; Baguio City

Intensity V - Magsingal and San Juan, Ilocos Sur, Alaminos City and Labrador, Pangasinan; Bambang, Nueva Vizcaya; Mexico, Pampanga; Concepcion, and Tarlac City, Tarlac; City of Manila; City of Malabon

Intensity IV - City of Marikina; Quezon City; City of Pasig; City of Valenzuela; City of Tabuk, Kalinga; Bautista and Malasiqui, Pangasinan; Bayombong and Diadi, Nueva Vizcaya; Guiguinto, Obando, and San Rafael, Bulacan; San Mateo, Rizal

Intensity III - Bolinao, Pangasinan; Bulakan, Bulacan; Tanay, Rizal

Intensity II - General Trias City, Cavite; Santa Rosa City, Laguna

Instrumental Intensities:

Intensity VII - Vigan City

Intensity V - Laoag City, Ilocos Norte; Peñablanca, Cagayan; Dagupan City, Pangasinan; Sinait, Ilocos Sur; Baguio City

Intensity IV - Gonzaga, Cagayan; Baler, Aurora; Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya; Ramos, Tarlac; Ilagan, Isabela; Basista, Pangasinan; Claveria, Cagayan; San Jose, Palayan City and Cabanatuan City, Nueva Ecija; Madella, Quirino; Tabuk, Kalinga; Santiago City, Isabela

Intensity III - Quezon City; Iba, Zambales; Navotas City, Malabon City, Metro Manila; Magalang & Guagua Pampanga; Bolinao, Sison & Infanta, Pangasinan; Bulakan, San Ildefonso, Guiguinto, Plaridel, and Malolos City, Bulacan; Tarlac City, Tarlac

Intensity II - Dona Remedios Trinidad, Angat & Santa Maria, Bulacan; Tagaytay City, Cavite; Pasig City Metro Manila; Polillo, Gumaca & Infanta, Quezon

Intensity I - Tanay, Taytay, Morong, Antipolo City, Rizal; Marilao,Bulacan; San Juan City, Las Pinas City, Metro Manila; Lucban, Quezon; Subic, Zambales; Mercedes,Camarines Norte; Olongapo City, Zambales; Carmona, Cavite