Philippine Heritage Society holds first Filipino Heritage Awards

Published July 3, 2022, 10:44 AM

by MB Business

From left: Incumbent Committee Members: Eugene Guiyab, Ann Morales, Danda Buhain, Rose Santiago-Licup, Ruby Guiyab, and Flora Urquico; and founders, Sherwin Sozon, and Nathan de Leon.

Lyric Opera of the Philippines (LyrOPERA), the country’s premier non-profit opera company, celebrates its 10th year anniversary via a co-presentation with the newly formed, Philippine Heritage Society, through the 2022 Filipino Heritage Awards Night/Philippine Heritage Society Ball. 

The Philippine Heritage Society is a group of individuals in different fields of endeavor who are bonded by their common advocacy to help sustain, preserve and promote Philippine identity, art, history and culture in all their forms. The mission of the society is to promote our country, the Philippines, by celebrating our past.

The Philippine Heritage Society and LyrOPERA PH Founder: Mr. Sherwin K. Sozon.

The Philippine Heritage Society was founded by Tess Castro, Nathan de Leon, and tenor-businessman, Sherwin Sozon.

Incumbent society members include Armita Rufino, Robert Castañeda, Eugene Guiyab, Ruby Guiyab, Kate Bellosillo, Danda Buhain, Carmen Afzelius, Jessie Maloles, Flora Urquico, Anne Nuguid Morales, Rachel Harrison, Rose Santiago Licup, Ronaldo Arnaldo, Atty. Jovy Beldad, Rose Rañola Jordan, Raymond Villanueva and its 2022-2023 chairperson and incoming Rotary District 3830 District Governor, Mache Torres Ackerman.

The 2022 distinguished list of awardees include: National Artist, Fides Cuyugan-Asencio, Jaime Laya, Atty. Dominador Buhain, Liza Macuja-Elizalde, Cristina Galang Caedo, Aristocrat, Mama Sita’s, and the Grand Dame of Philippine Arts and Culture: Imelda Romualdez Marcos.

Performing during the event are LyrOPERA artists: Randy Gilongo, Sherine Anne Koa, Eden Dumlao, Bernadette Mamauag, Nina Campos and the Philippine Tenors.

The event will take place at the Fiesta Pavilion of the historic Manila Hotel on July 25, 2022 at 5:00 PM.

The show is directed by Nathan de Leon, with the fashion segment directed by Raymond Villanueva.

Sponsors include Greenfield Development Corporation, Alpha One A1 (, MX3 Natural Supplements (, BAS Infrastructure (, United Graphic Expression Corporation (UGEC) and Curve Coffee Collaborators.

Media partners include: Globaltronics, Light TV God’s Channel of Blessings, The Manila Times, Happy Rich TV,,, Boracay Beach Radio, Mellow 94.7 FM,, People’s Journal, People’s Tonight, and TakeOFF Philippines.

For more information about LyrOPERA, visit their website and Facebook page.