Re-elected Baguio City Mayor Magalong, other officials to take their oath on June 30

Published June 29, 2022, 7:17 PM

by Comanda Rizaldy C.

BAGUIO CITY — Re-elected Mayor Benjamin Magalong and elected city officials will take their oath of office in ceremonies on Thursday, June 30, at the Baguio Convention Center.

Baguio City Mayor Benjamin Magalong wins another term with 64,665 votes. He was proclaimed along with Congressman-elect Marquez Go who garnered a total of 91,600 votes and Vice Mayor-elect Faustino Olowan with 60,885 votes. (Photo from Public Information Office – City of Baguio/FB)

Leticia Clemente, City Budget Officer, who heads the transition committee said the program will be simple yet solemn.

Other incoming officials to be sworn into office are incumbent Congressman Mark Go, Vice Mayor Faustino Olowan, Councilors Benny Bomogao, Arthur Allad-iw, Betty Lourdes Tabanda, Isabelo Cosalan, Mylen Victoria Yaranon, Vladimir Cayabas, Fred Bagbagen and Lilia Farinas and incoming Councilors Jose Molintas, Leandro Yangot Jr., Elmer Datuin, and Peter Fianza.

Magalong will be sworn in by Public Attorney I Celia Bacani while Olowan will take his oath before Municipal Trial Court (in Cities) Branch 1 Presiding Judge Roberto Mabalot.

The new set of officials will also be officially welcomed in a special program during the flag-raising ceremonies on July 4.

They will undergo Executive-Legislative Agenda planning to set the city’s development directions for the next three years.

Magalong told Manila Bulletin that he will maintain his 16 core agenda to accomplish this in his second-term, with his development administration’s goals focused on accelerating the city’s economic recovery and preventing the city from falling into an urban decay.

The 16 core agenda are: Speeding Up Government Actions; Revitalizing the Environment; Innovating Peace and Order Condition; Aggressive Traffic Management; Responsive Education Programs; Empowering the Youth; Expanding Health and Social Services; Responsible Tourism; Enlivened Culture, Arts, Crafts, and Heritage; Market Modernization; Efficient Disaster Management; Empowered and Accountable Barangay Governance; Strengthened Livelihood and Entrepreneurial Services; Poverty Reduction; Resolution of Indigenous People Land Issues; and Happiness.

Last June 27, the city government paid tribute to outgoing city officials in a send-off program during the City Hall flag-raising led by Magalong, Vice Mayor Olowan and employees honoring outgoing Councilors Joel Alangsab, Elaine Sembrano, Francisco Roberto Ortega and Philian Weygan.

The city also paid tribute to former City Interior and Local Government Director Evelyn Trinidad who was given a new assignment in the region.

The outgoing officials were conferred with ‘Vision Awards’ for public service excellence along with tokens from the association.