PNP lauds 4 Metro Manila LGUs for declaring June 30 as a special non-working holiday

Published June 29, 2022, 7:14 PM

by Aaron Recuenco 

The Philippine National Police (PNP) expressed on Wednesday, June 29, gratitude to the four local government units in Metro Manila for declaring June 30 as a special non-working holiday to give way to the inauguration of President-elect Ferdinand Marcos, Jr.

Police Maj. Gen. Valeriano de Leon, PNP director for Operations, said the decision of the City Governments of Manila, Navotas, Pasay and San Juan, will give the security forces advantage in the implementation of the security measures for the activity.

“This is a big help not only to the residents and workers of Metro Manila, since road closures and rerouting schemes have already been implemented, but also to the organizers of this historic event, as stricter security measures will be enforced on June 30,” said De Leon.

De Leon earlier urged LGUs that share border with Manila to follow the decision of the Manila City government to declare a special non-working holiday in order to maximize security measures for the inauguration that would be held at the National Museum.

Manila shares its borders with the cities of Makati, San Juan, Quezon City, Caloocan City, and Pasay.

De Leon stated that the declaration of a special non-working holiday will reduce the number vehicles and commuters on the roads, especially with the establishment of checkpoints at all the entry points of the City of Manila.

De Leon inspected the oath-taking venue on Wednesday, June 29, to ensure that all security measures agreed upon and discussed during a series of meetings with various government entities were in place.

More than 15,000 police officers, soldiers, Coast Guard personnel, and force multipliers will be deployed to secure the event, which it is expected that foreign visitors will attend.