Mandaluyong City officials take their oath

Published June 29, 2022, 1:40 PM

by Patrick Garcia

The Mandaluyong City local government held on Wednesday, June 29, the oath-taking ceremony for its newly-elected officials who promised a brighter and more prosperous future for Mandaleños amid the Covid-19 pandemic and beyond.

Newly-elected Mayor Benjamin Abalos took his oath as the new chief executive of the city at his home via Zoom after due to Covid-19. Mayor Abalos’ oath-taking was administered by Supreme Court Associate Justice Rodil Zalameda.

After 24 years, the incoming mayor returns to take the reins of the Tiger City after achieving a landslide victory against his opponent, Florencio Solomon.

Abalos Sr. garnered 137,311 votes against Solomon’s 24,546 votes.

His daughter-in-law, former Mandaluyong City Mayor Menchie Abalos, also took her oath at the Mandaluyong City Hall. She was accompanied by her family, including her husband, former Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) Chairman and incoming Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) Secretary Benhur Abalos.

Other elected city government officials who took their oath of office were:

Councilors for District 1

1. Anthony Suva

2. Elton Yap

3. Danny de Guzman

4. Rodolfo Posadas

5. Mariz Manalo

6. Junis Alim

Councilors for District 2

1. Benjamin Abalos III

2. Alex Sta. Maria

3. Regie Antiojo

4. Leslie Cruz

5. Mike Ocampo

6. Botong Gonzales Cuejilo