12 new cases of Covid-19 registered in Caraga region

Published May 10, 2022, 10:55 AM

by Mike Crismundo

BUTUAN CITY — The regional office of the Department of Health (DOH Caraga Region 13) on late Monday afternoon reported 12 new cases of Covid-19 in Northeastern Mindanao (The Caraga region).

The figure was from May 1 to 7 report, with two deaths also registered, the DOH 13 said in a statement sent to The Manila Bulletin.

The DOH-13 also said four cities in Caraga region recorded zero Covid-19 infections during the past week.

In its weekly report Monday, DOH-13 said no Covid-19 cases were recorded in the cities of Surigao, Tandag, Bislig and the region’s frontier and capital city of Butuan from May 1 to 7.

No Covid-19 infections were also logged in the Province of Dinagat Islands during the period.

The breakdown of the figure by province and city: Agusan del Norte (Magallanes) registered 1 case, Agusan del Sur 6 (Talacogon-5, Sta. Josefa-1), Bayugan City 2 (Taglatawan -1, Maygatasan-1), Cabadbaran City 1 (Tolosa), Surigao del Norte 1 (Taganaan), and Surigao del Sur 1 (San Agustin).

With this new development, the regional office of DOH 13 reminded the public ‘not to be complacent about the threat of Covid-19.’

“We must continue to properly adhere to the minimum public health standards under Alert Level 1,” the DOH said.

In its cumulative breakdown of cases per area in Caraga region, the DOH 13 said Agusan del Norte registered 4,997 Covid-19 cases, Agusan del Sur 13, 519, Bayugan City 2, 319, Bislig City 2,638, Butuan City 14, 501, Cabadbaran City 1,618, Province of Dinagat Islands 1, 731, Surigao City 2, 718, Surigao del Norte 4, 027, Surigao del Sur 8. 726, and Tandag City 2, 078 Covid-19 cases.