VP Robredo, late CHR Chair Gascon recognized as 2021 ‘Equality Champs’

Published December 14, 2021, 2:07 PM

by Jel Santos

VP Leni Robredo

Recognized for their advancement of the rights and welfare of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer or questioning, intersex, asexual, and agender (LGBTQI+) in the Philippines, Vice President Maria Leonor “Leni” Robredo and the late Commission on Human Rights (CHR) Chairperson Jose Luis Martin “Chito” Gascon will be honored during this year’s Equality Champ Awards.

In a statement, TLF Sexuality, Health and Rights Educators Collective (TLF Share Collective, Inc.) President Ferdinand Buenviaje encouraged the nomination of individuals, organizations, and institutions that demonstrate commitment in advancing the rights and welfare of LGBTQI+ Filipino.

Buenviaje said that Robredo and Gascon have been selected for this year’s roster of 2021 Equality Champs, which also includes the Philippine Educational Theater Association (Art, Culture and Entertainment Category), University of the Philippines Professor J. Neil C. Garcia (Education Category), Cebu City Councilor Alvin M. Dizon and Batangas Provincial Board Member Claudette Ambida (Governance and Public Service Category).

“Our 2018 awardees were Sen. Risa Hontiveros, Gov. Kaka Bag-ao, former CHR Chairperson Loretta Ann Rosales, Ms. Heart Evangelista, Ms. Tootsie Angara, Vice Ganda, Anne Curtis, and Karen Davila,” Buenviaje said.

This year, awardees will be honored in the Awards Night on Dec. 17, starting at 6 p.m. at the Academy of Rock in Quezon City. It will be a private reception to be attended by some awardees and invited LGBTQI advocates and allies, but it will also be livestreamed on Facebook.

Senator Hontiveros, who also chaired the Selection Committee, will be delivering the keynote speech to underscore the importance of championing human rights and being allies to the LGBTQI+ community.

The 2021 Equality Champ Awards is organized by TLF Share Collective in partnership with other LGBTQI organizations: Babaylanes, UP Babaylan, Lakanbini Advocates Pilipinas, GALANG, Pioneer FTM, PUP KASARIANLAN, GAYON Albay LGBT Org, UP Lipad and The Initiative PH – Department of SOGIE Rights.

TLF Share Collective is a non-government organization working on the sexual health, human rights and empowerment of gay and bisexual men, and transgender persons.