BTS emerges as biggest winner at 2021 MTV EMAs with 4 awards

Published November 15, 2021, 10:40 AM

by Jonathan Hicap

K-pop superstars BTS became the biggest winner at the 2021 MTV Europe Music Awards (MTV EMAs), sweeping all the categories they were nominated in.

BTS won four awards at the 2021 MTV EMAs: Best Pop, Best K-pop, Best Group and Biggest Fans.

(From top) BTS and aespa won at the 2021 MTV EMAs (Twitter, SM Entertainment, MTV EMAs)

The 2021 MTV EMAs returned live from the Papp László Budapest Sportaréna in Hungary with a global celebration of music for all.

The awards show, which aired on MTV in 180 countries, featured electrifying performances from today’s hottest stars and honored some of the world’s biggest artists while also celebrating music, love and equality.

Fans in Southeast Asia can catch the same-day premiere on the MTV Asia channel at 8pm (SG, MY, PH) and 7pm (WIB) tonight.

Ed Sheeran won Best Artist and Best Song for “Bad Habits” while Lil Nas X took home Best Video for “MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name).”

First-time EMA winners Måneskin bagged Best Rock while show host and performer Saweetie won Best New.

Nicki Minaj grabbed Best Hip-Hop, Olivia Rodrigo was awarded Best Push, Maluma won Best Latin and YUNGBLUD snagged the award for Best Alternative.

The Best Collaboration award went to Doja Cat ft. SZA for “Kiss Me More” while David Guetta nabbed Best Electronic and Billie Eilish was honored with Video for Good.

Sheeran opened the show with his latest single “Overpass Graffiti” and later performed “Shivers.”

Best New awardee and EMA host Saweetie brought the fashion and the funny with unforgettable show moments including basking by a pool with champagne in a palm tree-lined oasis, interacting with “Squid Games”-inspired soldiers in hot pink suits and MTV-branded masks, chatting virtually with friend and Brazilian singer Anitta, and riding a skateboard. Descending from the sky in a glittery snowflake, she also performed a medley of her hits “Best Friend,” “Tap In” and “Out Out.”

For the first time, the MTV EMA Generation Change Award winners were recognized during the EMAs main show.

This year’s honorees are five young changemakers who are furthering equality and love while fighting against anti-LGBTQ+ policies.

Actress and talk show host Drew Barrymore honored the recipients via a taped piece where she spoke about equality. The winners are Amir Ashour (Iraq), founder and chair of the board of IraQueer; Matthew Blaise (Nigeria) a non-binary and openly gay activist and founder of The Oasis Project, which supports queer people in Nigeria; Sage Dolan-Sandrino (United States) an Afro-Cuban queer and trans woman and the founder of a creative studio and digital magazine, the TEAM Mag; Erika Hilton (Brazil) the first Black trans woman ever elected in São Paulo, Brazil, and Viktória Radványi (Hungary), a board member of Budapest Pride, Hungary’s first feminist and anti-racist LGBTQ+ NGO, who appeared on stage to accept the award on behalf of the winners, creating a powerful moment of solidarity with the global LGBTQ+ community.

The MTV EMA Generation Change Award is a partnership between MTV Entertainment (MTVE), a division of ViacomCBS, and All Out, the leading global LGBTQ+ advocacy group, and part of ViacomCBS’ Content for Change initiative.

MTV also celebrated all the local EMA winners from different regions around the globe from Spain to Latin America, to Hungary and Africa. Aespa won Best Korean Act and JJ Lin took home the Best Southeast Asian Act.

Fans in Southeast Asia can catch the same-day premiere on the MTV Asia channel at 8 p.m. (SG, MY, PH) and 7 p.m. (WIB) tonight.

Here is the list of the 2021 MTV EMA winners:

Best Artist

Winner – Ed Sheeran

Doja Cat

Justin Bieber

Lady Gaga

Lil Nas X

The Weeknd

Best Pop

Winner – BTS

Doja Cat

Dua Lipa

Ed Sheeran

Justin Bieber

Olivia Rodrigo

Best K-Pop

Winner – BTS


Monsta X

NCT 127



Best Group

Winner – BTS

Imagine Dragons

Jonas Brothers

Little Mix


Silk Sonic

Biggest Fans

Ariana Grande


Winner – BTS

Justin Bieber

Lady Gaga

Taylor Swift

Best Song

Doja Cat ft. SZA – Kiss Me More

Winner – Ed Sheeran – Bad Habits*

Justin Bieber – Peaches ft. Daniel Caesar, Giveon

Lil Nas X – MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)

Olivia Rodrigo – drivers license

The Kid LAROI, Justin Bieber – STAY

Best Video

Doja Cat ft. SZA – Kiss Me More

Ed Sheeran – Bad Habits

Justin Bieber – Peaches ft. Daniel Caesar, Giveon

Winner – Lil Nas X – MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)*

Normani ft. Cardi B – Wild Side

Taylor Swift – willow

Best Collaboration

Black Eyed Peas, Shakira – GIRL LIKE ME

Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic – Leave the Door Open

Winner – Doja Cat ft. SZA – Kiss Me More*

Lil Nas X, Jack Harlow – INDUSTRY BABY

The Kid LAROI, Justin Bieber – STAY

The Weeknd & Ariana Grande – Save Your Tears (Remix)

Best New

Giveon Griff

Olivia Rodrigo

Rauw Alejandro

Winner – Saweetie


Best Electronic

Calvin Harris

Winner – David Guetta

Joel Corry



Swedish House Mafia

Best Rock


Foo Fighters

Imagine Dragons

Kings Of Leon

Winner – Måneskin

The Killers

Best Alternative



Machine Gun Kelly

Twenty One Pilots



Best Latin

Bad Bunny

J. Balvin

Winner – Maluma

Rauw Alejandro



Best Hip Hop

Cardi B

DJ Khaled


Kanye West

Megan Thee Stallion

Winner – Nicki Minaj

Best Push



girl in red


JC Stewart

JXDN Latto

Madison Beer

Winner – Olivia Rodrigo

Remi Wolf



Best Southeast Asia Act

SB19 (Philippines)

Ink Waruntorn (Thailand)

Winner – JJ Lin (Singapore)

K-ICM (Vietnam)

Lyodra (Indonesia)

Naim Daniel (Malaysia)

Best Korean Act

Winner – Aespa





Video for Good

Winner – Billie Eilish – Your Power

Demi Lovato – Dancing With The Devil

girl in red – Serotonin

H.E.R. – Fight For You

Harry Styles – Treat People With Kindness

Lil Nas X – MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)

MTV EMA Generation Change Award

Amir Ashour

Matthew Blaise

Sage Dolan-Sandrino

Erika Hilton

Viktória Radványi