DepEd: Only 30 schools will push through with limited pilot face-to-face classes on Nov. 15 so far

The Department of Education (DepEd) on Tuesday, Oct. 19, announced that a total of 30 schools will push through with the pilot implementation of limited face-to-face classes scheduled to start on Nov. 15 so far.


In a virtual press briefing, DepEd Assistant Secretary Malcolm Garma said that there is a total of 638 schools that were selected from an initial list endorsed by the regions which was evaluated by the Department of Health (DOH) Epidemiology Bureau (EB).

Based on the granular risk assessment of schools conducted by the DOH EB, Garma said that there are 59 schools that passed the assessment as minimal or low risk as of Oct. 2.

On Oct. 5, Garma noted that a memorandum was sent to the concerned Regional Directors instructing them to conduct a “quick validation” of the 59 schools.

“Based on the reports of the participating regions as of Oct. 13, only 30 schools will be pushing through with the pilot implementation of face-to-face classes,” Garma said.

Garma said that those schools that will push through with limited face-to-face classes on Nov. 15 are from six regions including Bicol (Region V) with three schools; Western Visayas (Region VI) with three schools; Central Visayas (Region VII) with eight schools; Zamboanga Peninsula (Region IX) with eight schools; Northern Mindanao (Region X) with six schools; and SOCCSKSARGEN (Region XII) with two schools.

Based on partial submission of validation reports as of Oct. 13, the list of 30 participating schools for the pilot implementation on Nov. 15 are:

Region V


1.Gutusan ES in Masbate City

2.Mary B. Perpetua in Milagros

3.Sinalongan ES in Masbate City

Region VI


4.Mayabay ES in Barbaza

5.Igsoro ES in Bugasong

6.Laserna IS in Nabas, Aklan

Region VII


7.Basak ES in Samboan

8.Mahanlud ES in Malabuyoc

9.Cabagdalan in Balamban

10.Luyongbaybay ES in Bantayan

11.Cañang-Marcelo Luna NHS in Oslob

12.Busay NHS in Moalboal

13.Pilar NHS in Pilar

14.Siocon ES in Bogo City

Region IX

Zamboanga Sibugay

15.Siloh ES in Siay

16.San Vicente ES in Payao

Zamboanga del Sur

17.Manga NHS in Pagadian City (Capital)

18.Manga ES

19.Lala ES

20.Sominot NHS Sominot (Don Mariano Marcos)

21.Tabina ES, Tabina

22.Guipos NHS in Guipos

Region X

Lanao del Norte

23.Dalama Central ES in Baroy

24.Babalaya ES in Bacolod

25.Napo ES in Linamon

26.Masibay IS in Nunungan

27.Tambacon IS in Magsaysay

28.Marcela T. Mabanta NHS in Kauswagan

Region XII

North Cotabato

29.Paco NHS in Kidapawan City

30.Bato ES in Makilala

Garma, however, noted that there are “46 schools” from the participating regions appealing to join the pilot implementation of face-to-dace classes. “Further validation will be conducted if these schools are included in the initial 638 nominated schools,” he added.

He also noted that the number of schools that will participate in the pilot face-to-face may increase before Nov. 15 based on the assessment of DepEd regional offices. "In the same manner, there might be schools that will withdraw their participation," Garma said.

Originally, as per the agreement of DepEd and DOH, a total of 120 schools or 100 public schools and 20 private schools will be included in the pilot study of limited face-to-face classes which will run for two months or from November 2021 to January 2022.