United opposition must embrace all ranks — youth groups

Published October 16, 2021, 3:19 PM

by Gabriela Baron

Youth groups aired disappointment over the non-inclusion of Makabayan senatorial candidate Neri Colmenares in the senatorial slate of Vice President and presidential aspirant Leni Robredo for the May 2022 elections.


In a statement on Friday, Oct. 15, the National Union of Students of the Philippines (NUSP) stressed that a united opposition “must be the one that embraces all ranks, one that includes genuine representatives of the marginalized sectors.”

“As such, the Union echoes its unwavering support for Atty. Neri Colmenares and his senatorial bid, and Atty. Neri’s inclusion is sure to solidify VP Robredo’s efforts to unify the opposition for 2022,” NUSP said.

The group also urged students to “actively scrutinize” candidates.

Meanwhile, the College Editors Guild of the Philippines (CEGP) underscored that a united and genuine opposition must “genuinely advance the interests of the Filipino people” and also expressed support to Colmenares.

“As a genuine lawmaker and human rights defender, he has taken to leverage the plights of the marginalized sectors, as is seen. Vying to break into closed rooms, he organizes to bring the genuine representation of the interests of the masses into the Senate,” CEGP said.

The group also reiterated that Colmenares and senatorial hopeful labor leader Elmer “Bong” Labog “will be instrumental in pushing for genuine change and reforms, most especially the sectors suffocating under the weight of gross negligence, state terror, fascism, and [an] unjust crooked system of the Duterte regime.”

“If the broad united front cannot coordinate with the progressive candidates–the ones standing with the masses on the forefronts, then pivotal actions from the grassroots will never usher,” it added.

On Friday, Robredo has named 11 candidates of the opposition senatorial slate for the May 2022 polls.

They are former Senator Antonio Trillanes IV, Senator Risa Hontiveros, Senator Leila de Lima, human rights lawyer Jose Manuel ‘Chel’ Diokno, former Ifugao representative Teodoro Baguilat Jr., Alex Lacson of Kapatiran Party, Senator Richard Gordon, Senator Juan Miguel Zubiri, Sorsogon Governor Francis “Chiz” Escudero, Senator Joel Villanueva, and former Vice President Jejomar Binay.