23 candidates file COCs in Muntinlupa

Published October 7, 2021, 7:33 PM

by Jonathan Hicap

The Commission on Elections (Comelec)-Muntinlupa has received 23 certificates of candidacy (COCs) for local positions for the May 9, 2022 elections.

As of Oct. 7, two candidates are vying for mayor, one for vice mayor and 20 for councilor, vying for the 16 seats available in the Sangguniang Panlungsod (City Council).

The Commission on Elections office in Muntinlupa (Jonathan Hicap)

For mayor, the candidates are incumbent Rep. Ruffy Biazon of One Muntinlupa party and Nelson Benjamin, who is running as an independent.

For vice mayor, incumbent Artemio Simundac of One Muntinlupa is the only candidate as of writing.

COCs for the position of congressman are filed with the Comelec-National Capital Region office. Incumbent Mayor Jaime Fresnedi of One Muntinlupa is running for congressman against Silverio Garing, who served as head of the Registry of Deeds-Muntinlupa.

There are 16 seats up for grabs for councilor in Muntinlupa. There are two districts in Muntinlupa and voters will select eight candidates for each district.

Candidates have until Oct. 8 to file their COCs. Here is the list of candidates for local positions in Muntinlupa as of Oct. 7:

For Congressman

1. Jaime R. Fresnedi – One Muntinlupa

2. Silverio Garing – PDP Laban

For Mayor

1. Ruffy Biazon – One Muntinlupa

2. Nelson Benjamin – Independent

For Vice Mayor

1. Artemio Simundac – One Muntinlupa

For Councilors

District 1

1. Jedidiah Presnedi – One Muntinlupa

2. Allan Rey Camilon – One Muntinlupa

3. Rachel Katriel Ann Arciaga – One Muntinlupa

4. Valentino Niefes – One Muntinlupa

5. Ivee Rhia Arciaga-Tadefa – One Muntinlupa

6. Paty Katy Boncayao-Barreto.- One Muntinlupa

7. Raul Corro – One Muntinlupa

8. Alexson Diaz – One Muntinlupa

9. Shernan Roy Gaite – Independent

10. Nelvin Cerillo – Independent

District 2

1. Luvi Constantino – One Muntinlupa

2. Mark Lester Baes – One Muntinlupa

3. Mamerto Sevilla Jr.- One Muntinlupa

4. Francis Ian Bagatsing – One Muntinlupa

5. Arlene Hilapo – One Muntinlupa

6. Cornelio Martinez – One Muntinlupa

7. Marissa Rongavilla – One Muntinlupa

8. Elmer Espeleta – Independent

9. Edgar Allan Manalo – Independent

10. Rodolfo Moldez – One Muntinlupa