BI to enforce IATF order on countries allowed, barred to enter PH

Published October 1, 2021, 2:22 PM

by Jun Ramirez

The Bureau of Immigration (BI) said it will be implementing a directive issued by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) that updated the list of so-called “red, yellow, and green” countries.

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente said the IATF resolution, which serves as a precautionary measure to stop the further spread of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19), identified the list of countries where their residents are allowed or barred to enter the Philippines.

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente said the resolution, a precautionary measure to further stop the spread of coronavirus disease (COVID-19), named the countries which are allowed and barred to enter the Philippines.

Bermuda, the British Island territory in the North Atlantic, remains the only country in the “red” list which means that passengers coming there will not be allowed to enter the country until October 15, according to the Immigration chief.

Meanwhile, travelers from “yellow” and “green” countries will be allowed to enter but they will be subjected to testing and quarantine protocols from seven to 10 days, he added.

The countries that are in the gree category are: American Samoa, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Chad, China (mainland), Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Hungary, Madagascar, Mali, Federated States of Micronesia, Montserrat, New Zealand, Niger, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Poland, Saba (Special Municipality of the Kingdom of Netherlands), Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sierra Leone, Sint Eustatius,

Taiwan, Algeria, Bhutan, Cook Islands, Eritrea, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Nicaragua, Niue, North Korea, Saint Helena, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, and Yemen.

Meanwhile, other countries that are not mentioned in the previous categories belong to the yellow list.

However, Morente stressed that the general travel restrictions remain in effect, particularly the entry of tourists.