Intensity 4 felt in Muntinlupa due to Occidental Mindoro earthquake

Published September 27, 2021, 9:25 AM

by Jonathan Hicap

Many residents of Muntinlupa City were awakened when a 5.7 magnitude earthquake struck Occidental Mindoro past midnight Monday.

According to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs), the earthquake struck at 1:12 a.m. at 18 northeast of Looc, Occidental Mindoro.

Intensity IV was registered on the Philippine Earthquake Intensity Meter Network instrument installed at the Muntinlupa Operations Center.

Intensity IV registered on the Philippine Earthquake Intensity Meter Network instrument installed in Muntinlupa. (MDDRM)

Under the Phivolcs Earthquake Intensity Scale (PEIS), Intensity IV is classified as “moderately strong” based on the shaking.

“Felt generally by people indoors and by some people outdoors. Light sleepers are awakened. Vibration is felt like a passing of heavy truck. Hanging objects swing considerably. Dinner, plates, glasses, windows and doors rattle. Floors and walls of wood framed buildings creak. Standing motor cars may rock slightly. Liquids in containers are slightly disturbed. Water in containers oscillates strongly. Rumbling sound may sometimes be heard,” according to Phivolcs.

Muntinlupa netizens said they felt the earthquake.

“Akala ko panaginip lang na gumagalaw yung kama yun pala tutuo pala na lindol, lord ay safe po ang lahat,” commented Roxan Firma on the Muntinlupa City government Facebook page.

According to Rex Fontalba Ternida, “Umuuga kame sa taas ng Apartment dito sa Summitville [Brgy. Putatan].”

“Naramdaman din namin dito sa Southville 3 [Brgy. Poblacion],” posted Angela Muyrong Bautista.

Erwin Alfonso, head of the Muntinlupa City Department of Disaster Resilience and Management (MDDRM), said so far, they have not received reports of any damage on houses or buildings due to the earthquake.

Phivolcs said the reported intensities of the Occidental Mindoro earthquake are:

Intensity IV – Calatagan, Lian, Lipa City, Malvar and Nasugbu, Batangas; Malolos City and Obando, Bulacan; Cavite City, General Trias City, Naic, Amadeo, Bacoor City, Dasmariñas City, Tagaytay City and Tanza, Cavite; Biñan City and Cabuyao City, Laguna; Las Piñas City; Malabon City; Mandaluyong City; City of Manila; Marikina City; Muntinlupa City; Parañaque City; San Juan City; Taguig City; Pateros, Metro Manila; Abra De Ilog, Looc, Lubang and Mamburao, Occidental Mindoro; Baco, Naujan and Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro; San Mateo and Taytay, Rizal

Intensity III – Santo Tomas City, Batangas; Makati City; Pasay City; Pasig City; Quezon City; Valenzuela City; Santa Cruz, Occidental Mindoro; Antipolo City; Socorro, Oriental Mindoro

Intensity II – Los Baños, Laguna; Palayan City, Nueva Ecija

Intensity I – Arayat, Pampanga

The instrumental intensities are:

Intensity V – Tagaytay City, Cavite

Intensity IV – Batangas City and Calatagan, Batangas; Malolos City, Marilao and Plaridel, Bulacan; Carmona, Cavite; Malabon City; Muntinlupa City; Calapan City and Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro

Intensity III – Pandi, Bulacan; Las Piñas City; Marikina City; Pasig City; San Juan City; Guagua, Pampanga; Dolores, Quezon; Olongapo City, Zambales

Intensity II – Baler, Aurora; Doña Remedios Trinidad, Bulacan; Makati City; Mandaluyong City

Intensity I – Cabanatuan City and Palayan City, Nueva Ecija; Dagupan City, Pangasinan; Lopez, Quezon