SC extends to Sept. 24 bar exams applications for those who have yet to complete their registration

Published September 19, 2021, 11:23 AM

by Rey Panaligan 

Supreme Court

Law graduates who registered for the online 2020-2021 bar examinations this November but have not completed their registrations have until Friday, Sept. 24, to do so.

The Supreme Court (SC) said the online applications for the bar examinations ended last Sept. 15. But it learned that many have not completed their registrations.

“Those who have substantially complied with the deadline will be given until Sept. 24, 2021 to complete their registration,” the SC said through a bar bulletin issued by Associate Justice Marvic M.V.F. Leonen, chairperson of the 2020-2021 bar examinations committee.

Those who have substantially complied with the deadline are “applicants who have uploaded their documentary requirements but have yet to pay their bar fees (P10,000), or paid applicants, but whose payments have not been reflected in their accounts; and applicants who only partially completed their applications; or applicants who could not submit their applications because of technical issues.”

Applicants “may reach out to the Office of the Bar Confidant Helpdesk hotlines at 09178138543 or 09088507682 or at its e-mail address, [email protected], the SC said.

So far, there will be 24 testing centers nationwide for the bar examinations on Nov. 7, 14, 21, and 28.

The SC had said that four other testing centers — three in Metro Manila and one in Central Luzon — are still being considered.

It said the use of several testing centers nationwide is aimed at “reducing the examinees travel and accommodation expenses as well as minimizing their transit to comply with public health guidelines in view of the COVID-19 pandemic.”

As of last August, the testing centers with their maximum available slots:

National Capital Region — Ateneo de Manila University Law School, Ateneo Professional Schools Building, 20 Rockwell Drive, Rockwell Center, Makati City (maximum 269 slots); Manila Adventist College, 1975 San Juan Street, Pasay City (maximum 450 slots); University of Makati, J.P. Rizal Extension, West Rembo, Makati City (maximum 1,000 slots); Far Eastern University, Nicanor Reyes, Sampaloc, Manila (maximum 600 slots); and University of Santo Tomas, España Boulevard, Sampaloc, Manila (maximum 500 slots).

Cordillera Administrative Region — St. Louis University School of Law, A. Bonifacio Street, Baguio City (maximum 1,035 slots).

Region 1 (Ilocos Region) — St. Louis College, Carlatan, San Fernando City, La Union (maximum 1,280 slots).

Region 2 (Cagayan Valley) — Cagayan State University College of Law, Carig Campus – Carig Sur, Tuguegarao City, Cagayan (maximum 421 slots); St. Mary’s University College of Law, Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya (maximum 259 slots).

Region 4A (CALABARZON) — De La Salle University – Lipa, 1962 Pres. J.P. Laurel National Highway, Lipa City, Batangas (maximum 1,125 slots).

Region 4B (MIMAROPA) — City College of Calapan, Barangay Guinobatan, Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro (maximum 200 slots).

Region 5 (Bicol Region) — University of Nueva Caceres, J. Hernandez Avenue, Naga, Camarines Sur (maximum 1,000 slots).

Region 6 (Western Visayas) — Central Philippine University, University Avenue, Jaro, Iloilo City, Iloilo (maximum 475 slots) and University of St. La Salle, La Salle Avenue, Bacolod City, Negros Occidental (maximum 1,340 slots).

Region 7 (Central Visayas) — University of San Jose Recoletos – Basak Campus, N. Bacalso Street, Basak, Pardo, Cebu City (maximum 600 slots); University of Cebu School of Law, UC Banilad, M. Cuenco Avenue, Banilad, Cebu City (maximum 1,000 slots); University of San Carlos School of Law and Governance, University of San Carlos Law Building, Pelaez Street, Cebu City (maximum 200 slots); and Silliman University College of Law, 1 Hibbard Avenue, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental (maximum 1,000 slots).

Region 8 (Eastern Visayas) — Dr. V. Orestes Romualdez Educational Foundation, Calanipawan Road, Barangay Calanipawan, Tacloban City, Leyte (maximum 400 slots).

Region 9 (Zamboanga Peninsula) — Ateneo de Zamboanga University, La Purisima Street, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga del Sur (maximum 365 slots).

Region 10 (Northern Mindanao) — Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan College of Law, 73 Corrales Avenue, Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis Oriental (maximum 240 slots); Mindanao State University – Iligan Institute of Technology, Andres Bonifacio Avenue, Tibanga, Iligan City, Lanao del Norte (maximum 250 slots).

Region 11 (Davao Region) — Ateneo de Davao University, Senior High School Campus, Bangkal, Davao City (maximum 800 slots).

Region 12 (SOCCSKSARGEN) — Mindanao State University, Fatima, General Santos City (maximum 204 slots).