PH removes Israel, Vietnam from 'green' list

Published July 30, 2021, 11:14 AM

by Genalyn Kabiling

The government has trimmed down the list of “green” or low coronavirus risk countries, a category that allows their fully vaccinated travelers to undergo shorter quarantine upon arrival in the Philippines.

President Rodrigo Duterte is accompanied by Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade, Bases Conversion and Development Authority Secretary Vivencio Dizon in trying the self check-in counter during an inspection of the new passenger terminal building of the Clark International Airport on July 17, 2021. With them is Luzon International Premier Airport Development Corporation CEO Bi Yong Chungunco. (Malacañang)

The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases has revised the list of “green” nations, bringing the number to 51 from 57 as the country faces a coronavirus virus surge driven by the Delta variant.

Removed from the green list are Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Curacao, Greenland, Iceland, Isle of Man, Israel, Liechtenstein, Mauritius, Turks and Caicos Islands (UK) and Vietnam.

The task force, however, added Bulgaria, Dijibouti, Equatorial Guinea, French Polynesia, Moldova, Poland, and Slovakia to the green list instead.

The task force earlier issued health guidelines for vaccinated travelers who stayed in these “green” countries, including a seven-day quarantine at a facility instead of the usual 10 days, when arriving in the country.

The “green” countries/jurisdictions are those classified by the Department of Health as “low risk” countries/jurisdictions based on disease incidence rate.

These vaccinated traveler must take a swab coronavirus test on the fifth day of facility-based quarantine. If a passenger tests negative, the individual must complete the seven-day facility-based quarantine. If found positive, the traveler must follow the prescribed isolation protocols.

The countries under the revised green list are the following:

  1. Albania
  2. American Samoa
  3. Anguilla
  4. Antigua and Barbuda
  5. Australia
  6. Azerbaijan
  7. Benin
  8. Bermuda
  9. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  10. Brunei
  11. Bulgaria
  12. Burkina Faso
  13. Cayman Islands
  14. Chad
  15. China
  16. Comoros
  17. Cote d’ Ivoire (Ivory Coast
  18. Dominica
  19. Djibouti
  20. Equatorial Guinea
  21. Falkland Islands
  22. Gabon
  23. Gambia
  24. Ghana
  25. Grenada
  26. Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region of China)
  27. Hungary
  28. Kosovo
  29. Laos
  30. Mali
  31. Marshall Islands
  32. Federated States of Micronesia
  33. Moldova
  34. Montserrat
  35. New Caledonia
  36. New Zealand
  37. Niger
  38. Nigeria
  39. North Macedonia
  40. Northern Mariana Islands
  41. Palau
  42. Poland
  43. Romania
  44. Saba (Special Municipality of the Kingdom of Netherlands)
  45. Saint Barthelemy
  46. Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  47. Singapore
  48. Sint Eustatius
  49. Slovakia
  50. Taiwan
  51. Togo

The last time the green list was updated by the government pandemic task force was mid-July. The original list was released on June 30 to screen the entry of vaccinated travelers into the country.

READ: Gov’t updates list of ‘green’ or low COVID risk countries

READ: PH names China, Israel among ‘green’ or low COVID-19 risk countries