11 Metro Manila mayors favor longer curfew hours

Published July 23, 2021, 9:50 PM

by Jel Santos

Majority of the mayors in Metro Manila have voted to impose longer curfew hours due to the threat of the Delta variant of COVID-19.

A very reliable source told the Manila Bulletin that 11 out of 17 mayors in the National Capital Region (NCR) have voted to impose the 10 p.m. to 4 a.m. curfew hours.

This will be recommended by the Metro Manila mayors to the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases.

“Most of the mayors voted for the 10 p.m. to 4 a.m. curfew hours, as suggested by health experts to the Metro Manila Council,” the source, who was present at the voting Friday night, said.

There were some mayors who were not in favor of the 10 p.m. to 4 a.m. curfew hours due to economic reasons.

The voting of the mayors was still ongoing Friday night.

The NCR, including Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Davao de Oro, and Davao del Norte were placed under the General Community Quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions on Friday, July 23, until the end of the month.