P1.1-B widening works on 31 bridges underway in Eastern Visayas

Published July 19, 2021, 3:33 PM

by Betheena Unite

Thirty-one national bridges in Eastern Visayas are undergoing widening works in an effort to improve the region’s road network, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) said.

BUSY WITH BRIDGES–A total of 31 national bridges are being widened in Eastern Visayas, all of which are poised for completion within the year. (Photo courtesy of the DPWH)

The widening works involve 17 bridges in Leyte province, seven in Southern Leyte, three in Samar province, two in Northern Samar, and two in Biliran.

These are being implemented under a P1.1-billion allocation from the 2021 General Appropriations Act (GAA). All of them are expected to be completed this 2021.

According to DPWH Secretary Mark Villar, the widening works are meant to complement the nationwide road expansion projects under calendar year (CY) 2021 in Region 8.

“Other than constructing additional lanes, retrofitting activities are also performed on bridges in accordance with the latest department design standards, guidelines, criteria, and specifications. Through this undertaking, our structures will be more resilient in the event of strong earthquakes,” Villar said.

The 31 bridges up for widening include the Abo-abo Bridge along Lemon-Leyte-Biliran Road; Canomantag Bridge along Bagahupi-Babatngon-Sta Cruz-Barugo-Carigara Road; Bagahupi Bridge along Leyte-Samar Inter-Provincial Road; Sabang Bridge along Villaba-Palompon Road; Bogasong Bridge along Daang Maharlika, Libagon, Southern Leyte; Himanglos Bridge along Bagahupi-Babatngon-Sta Cruz-Barugo-Carigara Road; Pangasugan Bridge along Ormoc-Baybay-Southern Leyte Boundary Road; Cagnonoc Bridge along Ormoc-Baybay-Southern Leyte Boundary Road; Busali Bridge and Moog Bridge along Biliran Circumferential Road; Apale Bridge, Calunangan Bridge, Guinobatan Bridge, and Libas Bridge along Palompon-Isabel-Merida-Ormoc Road; Tabog Bridge, Bagalongon Bridge, Lourdes Bridge, Cawayan Bridges 1 and 2, Dakit Bridge, Mayuga Bridge, San Joaquin Bridge, Canaya Bridge, Bito Bridge, Tuburan Bridge, Peña Bridge, Manok-Manok Bridge, Caglanipao Bridge, Bayog Bridge, Caaguit-itan Bridge, and Ibarra Bridge along Daang Maharlika.

It was disclosed that the DPWH-Region 8 also received an allocation of P35.59 billion from the 2021 GAA for the maintenance of over 900 bridges and 2,560 kilometers of national roads in Eastern Visayas.