‘It’s Okay’ star Seo Ye-ji decides not to attend Baeksang Arts Awards slated tonight

Published May 13, 2021, 7:18 AM

by Jonathan Hicap

Seo Ye-ji with her Best Artist Award at the Asia Artist Awards held last November (Instagram)

K-drama “It’s Okay to Not Be Okay” star Seo Ye-ji  has decided not to attend the 57th Baeksang Arts Awards, which  will be held tonight (May 13). 

“Seo Ye-ji will not be able to attend the 57th Baeksang Arts Awards due to personal reasons,” her agency, Goldmedalist, told Korean media on May 12. 

On May 11, Goldmedalist teased fans and the media by saying that Seo Ye-ji’s attendance at the awards ceremony was under discussion. 

She is facing controversies including accusations that she manipulated former boyfriend and actor Kim Jung-hyun while he was filming the drama “Time” in 2018, mistreatment of staff and lying about her academic background. 

By not attending the event, Seo Ye-ji’s hiatus has reached one month since she backed out of attending the press conference and media presentation for her movie “Recalled” last April 13. 

Seo Ye-ji is already a winner at the Baeksang Arts Awards after she took first place in the female category in the fan-voted Tiktok Popularity Award.

She won the popularity award with 789,170 total votes, edging out “Mr. Queen” star Shin Hye-sun who placed second with 678,800 votes and “River Where the Moon Rises” and “Love Alarm” star Kim So-hyun who took third place with 212,990 votes. (f)x member and actress Krystal (aka Jung Soo Jung) placed fourth with  76,780 votes followed by Kim Hyeon Soo with 67,030. 

Last year, “Crash Landing on You” stars Hyun Bin and Son Ye-jin won the TikTok Popularity Award.

In addition, Seo Ye-ji is nominated for best actress this year for “It’s Okay to Not Be Okay,” competing against Shin Hye-sun of “Mr. Queen,” Kim So-hyun of “River Where the Moon Rises,” Kim So-yeon of “The Penthouse: War in Life’ and Uhm Ji-won of “Birthcare Center.”

The Baeksang Arts Awards will honor outstanding works in TV, film and theater. In last year’s ceremony, the K-drama “When the Camellia Blooms” and director Bong Joon-ho of the Oscar-winning film “Parasite” bagged the daesang, or grand prizes.