6 HEIs in Bicol sign MOA to share faculty resources, ensure quality education to Bicolanos – CHED

Published May 8, 2021, 11:07 PM

by Charissa Luci-Atienza 

The Commission on Higher Education (CHED) said Saturday, May 8, that six Memoranda of Agreement have been signed among higher education institutions (HEIs) in the Bicol region to pave way for the sharing of faculty resources through the adjunct faculty system and ensure the delivery of quality education to Bicolanos.

(Photo from Commission on Higher Education)

The CHED said the following agreements were signed:

-Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa Sr. Memorial State College of Agriculture and Technology (DEBESMSCAT) and Sorsogon State University (SSU) on Industrial Technology

-DEBESMSCAT and Camarines Norte State College (CNSC) on Environmental Science

-DEBESMSCAT and Central Bicol State University of Agriculture (CBSUA) on Crop Science and Environmental Science

-DEBESMSCAT and Bicol University (BU) on Crop Science and Animal Science

-SSU and Partido State University (ParSU) on fisheries program

-SSU and BU on technology program

CHED lauded the HEIs’ signing of the agreements with each other to “ensure quality assurance in their degree programs.”

The signing of agreements took place after CHED approved the sharing of faculty among universities through the hiring of adjunct faculty to promote quality assurance and comply with CHED requirements for state colleges being converted into universities.

CHED Chairman J. Prospero E. De Vera III cited that the sharing of faculty across universities is now possible because of the flexible learning system approved by CHED during the pandemic.

“While it was difficult to get adjunct faculty before because they have to physically teach in in-person or face-to-face classes, they can share their expertise through distance learning or synchronous and asynchronous teaching under the current flexible learning system,” he said during the MoA signing.

“The signing of the MoA signals the commitment and readiness of our HEIs in Bicol to work together to improve the quality of teaching and research particularly in the smaller state colleges,” De Vera added.

Under the adjunct faculty policy, state colleges can enter into a MoA with more established public and private universities so their expert faculty can teach courses in the state colleges while their own faculty are completing their graduate degrees and special training, CHED said.

Adjunct faculty can also be harnessed in degree programs where there is a dearth of qualified faculty in the region. The adjunct faculty can also be tapped in the research programs of state colleges.

The agreements were inked during the Huntahan or Meet and Greet of Philippine Association of State Universities and Colleges (PASUC) V presidents with De Vera, CHED Commissioner Aldrin A. Darilag, Unified Student Financial Assistance System for Tertiary Education (UniFAST) Executive Director Ryan L. Estevez, and CHEDRO-5 Director Freddie T. Bernal in Daraga, Albay.

“This signifies synergy and collaboration towards a more responsive and resilient higher education system,” Darilag said.

Darilag leads the nine state universities and colleges (SUCs) in Bicol region. These include Camarines Sur Polytechnic College (CSPC), Bicol State College of Applied Sciences and Technology (BISCAST), Catanduanes State University (CatSU), BU, CNSC, CBSUA, ParSU, DEBESMSCAT and SSU.

BU President Arnulfo M. Mascariñas, SSU President Helen B. Lara, CBSUA President Alberto Naperi, DEBESMSCAT President Renee Lamela, ParSU President Raul Bradecina, CSPC President Charlito Cadag, BISCAST President Alex Navarroza, and Regional Director Bernal who is the Officer-in-Charge of CNSC and CatSU also attended the signing ceremonies.