BI expands travel ban to cover India's four neighboring countries

Published May 6, 2021, 4:56 PM

by Jun Ramirez

The Bureau of Immigration (BI) is expanding the travel restrictions it earlier imposed on India to include its four adjacent countries.

(Photo from BI Facebook page)

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente said passengers coming from Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh will not be allowed to enter the Philippines starting tomorrow, Friday, May 7, until May 14.

The BI chief said the expanded travel ban was greenlighted by Malacañang as the highly infectious Indian coronavirus disease (COVID-19) variant has already reached those countries.

The travel ban would also include passengers with travel history to those regions within the last 14 days prior to their arrival in the Philippines.

Morente said those who would be coming prior to May 7 will be allowed entry, but they would be made to undergo a 14-day quarantine and reverse transcription-polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) test.

Likewise, he said passengers transiting the said countries will be allowed to enter the Philippines provided that they undergo the required two-week quarantine.

Transiting passengers refer to travelers who stayed at the airport in-between flights but were never allowed to go out of the terminal.