CHED: 24 colleges, universities approved to re-open for limited face-to-face classes

Published March 26, 2021, 2:22 PM

by Merlina Hernando-Malipot

The Commission on Higher Education (CHED) confirmed that 24 higher education institutions (HEIs) all over the country have been allowed hold limited face-to-face classes effective the 2nd Semester of Academic Year (AY) 2020-2021.


Issuing a statement on Friday, March 26, CHED Chairman J. Prospero E. De Vera III said that these HEIs have fully complied with the guidelines set by CHED and the Department of Health (DOH).

These HEIs, De Vera added, have also been “inspected” by CHED and their local government units (LGUs) “so they can now bring their 3rd and 4th year students for hands-on training and laboratory classes” in a limited face-to-face system.

“CHED will continue to monitor these HEIs and I am confident that they will provide safe and healthy spaces for their students in the coming months,” De Vera added.

The following HEIs passed stringent retrofitting and health standards imposed by CHED, the Department of Health (DOH) and the COVID-19 Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) are:

  • Mariano Marcos State University – Batac (Region I)
  • St. Louis University (CAR)
  • Our Lady of Fatima University – City of San Fernando (Region III)
  • Ateneo School of Medicine and Public Health (NCR)
  • University of Santo Tomas (NCR)
  • University of East Ramon Magsaysay (NCR)
  • Our Lady of Fatima University – Quezon City (NCR)
  • Our Lady of Fatima University – Valenzuela City (NCR)
  • Manila Central University (NCR)
  • Adventist University of the Philippines (Region IV)
  • De La Salle Health and Medical Science Institute (Region IV)
  • University of Perpetual Help – Don Jose (Region IV)
  • Our Lady of Fatima University – Sta. Rosa (Region IV)
  • Naga College Foundation (Region V)
  • West Visayas State University (Region VI)
  • Central Philippine University (Region VI)
  • Cebu Institute of Medicine (Region VII)
  • University of Cebu School of Medicine (Region VII)
  • Iloilo Doctors’ College of Medicine (Region VI)
  • University of Iloilo (Region VI)
  • Blancia Foundation College, Inc. (Region IX)
  • Xavier University (Region X)
  • Liceo de Cagayan University (Region X)
  • University of the Philippines-Manila (NCR)

De Vera said that selected allied health-related degree programs, such as Medicine, Nursing, Medical Technology/Medical Laboratory Science, Physical Therapy, Midwifery, and Public Health, were prioritized to conduct limited face-to-face classes.

The two major reasons behind this, De Vera said, is to “enable students to achieve key learning outcomes on specialized laboratory courses and hospital-based clinical clerkship/internship/practicum” and to “provide additional manpower to the country’s health system.”