Chery Tiggo takes act to PVL

Published March 9, 2021, 1:05 PM

by Kristel Satumbaga-Villar

The Chery Tiggo 7 Pro Crossovers are taking their acts to the Premier Volleyball League.

Organizer Sports Vision President Ricky Palou disclosed the development Tuesday, March 9, making it 11 teams participating in the upcoming Open Conference.

Prior to the move, the team has been playing for the Philippine Superliga since 2014. They were previously called the Foton Tornadoes at the time of their entry until rebranding to Chery Tiggo in 2020.

Palou said the presence of Chery Tiggo “will bring more competition to the league.”

Former Superliga teams PLDT Home Fibr Power Hitters and the Cignal HD Spikers have already joined the professional league and will join confirmed teams defending champion Creamline, Petro Gazz, Choco Mucho, Perlas, Bali Pure, UAC Energy Holdings (formerly Peak Form), Air Force and Army.

Based on its 2020 roster, Chery Tiggo has sisters EJ and Eya Laure, Jasmine Nabor, Maika Ortiz, Shaya Adorador, Dindin Santiago-Manabat and Jaja Santiago.

Chery Tiggo already hinted its move to turn pro on a Facebook post a few days ago until its finality Tuesday.

“Now switching to PRO! We are ready to crossover!” the post read, accompanied by a team photo

The Open Conference is set May 8 at the Inspire Sports Academy in Calamba, Laguna under a bubble-type setup.