Malacañang amends list of 2021 holidays: All Souls’ Day, Christmas Eve, New Year’s Eve declared special working days

Published February 26, 2021, 8:20 PM

by Genalyn Kabiling

There will be three additional working days this year after Malacañang recalled an earlier decision that declared certain occasions as special holidays.


Under Proclamation No. 1107, All Souls’ Day, (Nov. 2, Tuesday), Christmas Eve (Dec. 24, Friday), and last day of the year (Dec. 31, Friday) have been declared as “special working days” in a bid to minimize work disruption and boost economic activity while the country deals with the coronavirus pandemic.

The new proclamation, signed by President Duterte on Feb. 26, amended the list of holidays and special days for 2021 under Proclamation No. 986 issued in July 2020. In the old proclamation, the three dates were listed as special non-working days. 

The latest change reduces the number of the country’s list of non-working holidays to 16 this year, from the original 19.

“For the country to recover from the adverse economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, there is a need to encourage economic productivity by, among others, minimizing work disruption and commemorating some special holidays as special (working) days instead,” the proclamation read.

The same proclamation also noted that health protocols implemented by authorities discourage large gatherings and festivities that usually take place during public commemorations. Except for Metro Manila and several areas, the country is largely under the relaxed modified general community quarantine to curb the spread of the new coronavirus disease. 

Under the new proclamation, the country’s 10 regular holidays for 2021 are the following:

  • New Year’s Day (Jan. 1, Friday)
  • Araw ng Kagitingan (April 9, Friday) 
  • Maundy Thursday (April 1)
  • Good Friday (April 2)
  • Labor Day (May 1, Saturday) 
  • Independence Day (June 12, Saturday)
  • National Heroes Day (Aug. 30, last Monday of August)
  • Bonifacio Day (Nov. 30, Tuesday)
  • Christmas Day (Dec. 25, Saturday)
  • Rizal Day (Dec. 30,  Thursday)

The six special non-working days are following:

  • Chinese New Year (Feb. 12, Friday)
  • EDSA People Power Revolution (Feb. 25, Thursday)
  • Ninoy Aquino Day (Aug. 21, Saturday)
  • Black Saturday (April 3)
  • All Saints’ Day (Nov. 1, Monday)
  • Feast of the Immaculate Concepcion of Mary (Dec. 8, Wednesday)

The three new special working days are following:

  • All Souls’ Day (Nov. 2, Tuesday) 
  • Christmas Eve (Dec. 24, Friday)
  • Last Day of the Year (Dec. 31, Friday)

The latest proclamation on the amended list of holidays will take effect immediately.