Suzara taps former top players to National Team Commission

Published February 18, 2021, 4:31 PM

by Kristel Satumbaga-Villar

Philippine National Volleyball Federation Inc. (PNVF) President Tats Suzara has appointed former national team players to comprise the association’s National Team Commission that would oversee the selection of future PH team members.

Among those appointed were Fe Mejia-Moran, Grace Antigua, Michael Verano, Rosemarie Prochina, Tina Salak and Odjie Mamon.

Mejia-Moran is part of the PH team that won three straight gold medals at the 1977, 1979 and 1981 Southeast Asian Games, while Antigua is also part of the gold-medal squad in the 1981 and 1985 SEAG.

Verano was part of the men’s team in the 1980s, while Mamon was also a former PH team member and coach of the University of Santo Tomas squad.

Prochina is a gold medalist at the 1993 SEAG, while Salak is a member of the 1995 SEAG silver medal squad.

Also part of the team are Oliver Mora, Rollie Delfino and Charo Soriano.

Soriano, also a PNVF board member, is specifically in charge with the selection of national beach volleyball team players.

National Team Commission chairman Tony Liao and secretary Richard Gomez have already met with the group to discuss the selection process that will be applied in coming up with a lean pool of players.

Their target is to send a team to the Asian Senior Women’s and Men’s Senior Championship in August and the 31st Vietnam Southeast Asian Games in November.