Moonton revises format for MPL-PH Season 7 Qualifiers

Published January 6, 2021, 7:19 PM

by Jeremiah Sevilla

The MPL Philippines Season 7 will welcome two new teams from the Qualifiers, according to the rules and regulations recently released by Moonton’s tournament organizers for the local professional Mobile Legends league.

As previously announced, aspiring teams may register from Jan. 11 to 19 while the qualifying tourney will commence on Jan. 22.

Read: Want to be a pro player? MPL-PH reveals important dates for Season 7 qualifiers

The main qualifier, which will be broadcasted, is on Jan. 30 and 31.  

Registered teams will battle it out in a do-or-die match in the group qualifier before the round of 16 (semifinals of each group).

Starting at the round of 16, teams will duke it out in best-of-three series, with the top eight squads advancing to the main qualifier.

Unlike in the past seasons where the main qualifier was divided into two four-team double-elimination groups, this season will feature an eight-team double-elimination format which perhaps is the biggest change to the rules and is expected to produce the two most qualified teams.

In Season 6, Cignal Ultra narrowly defeated former MPL member ArkAngel Esports, 2-1, in Group A while AkosiDogie’s Nexplay Solid demolished Team Chik, 2-0, to enter the regular season.

The two teams that will emerge victorious in the Season 7 Qualifiers will join the eight invited teams from Season 6.

Logically speaking, the top eight from last season will be invited namely Bren Esports (champion), Smart Omega (runner-up), Execration (third), Onic PH (fourth) and playoff finishers Aura PH, Blacklist International, Cignal and NXP. dr

Bottom finishers BNK Blufire and BSB will most likely be given the boot to give way for the winners of the qualifiers.

As stated in the rules, “if some of the invited teams lose their direct invite eligibility, a corresponding number of teams will be promoted from the qualifier to the regular season based on their qualifier rankings.”

For the complete MPL-PH Season 7 Qualifiers rules and regulations, you may visit this link: