DOH recommends inclusion of 6 more countries in travel restrictions

Published January 6, 2021, 6:53 PM

by Analou de Vera

The Department of Health (DOH) said  it has recommended to impose travel restrictions on six more countries that have reported a case of the new variant of COVID-19 virus. 

Health Assistant Secretary Maria Rosario S. Vergeire
Health Assistant Secretary Maria Rosario S. Vergeire (PCOO / MANILA BULLETIN)

“Until January 15, 2021 we are restricting travel from countries with confirmed UK variant. Apart from the 21 countries that have already been announced, the Department of Health and the Department of Foreign Affairs have recommended the addition of six countries with official reports confirming the detection of this UK variant,” said DOH Undersecretary Maria Rosario Vergeire. 

“The mandatory completion of the 14-day quarantine period regardless of RT PCR results has also been effect in all our international ports of entry for all returning Filipinos with travel history from countries with confirmed cases of the UK variant,” she added. 

The DOH has yet to release the list of the six countries. 

The temporary travel restriction was imposed by the Philippine government to selected countries  to avoid the entry of the new COVID-19 virus variant. 

Foreign travelers from the following countries are temporarily restricted from entering the Philippines:  United Kingdom, United States, Denmark, Ireland, Japan, Australia, Israel, The Netherlands, Hong Kong, Switzerland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Lebanon, Singapore, Sweden, South Korea, South Africa, Canada, and Spain.