Bambol: Road, MTB, BMX races next year

Published December 29, 2020, 1:58 PM

by Kristel Satumbaga-Villar

Election committee chairman Bones Floro (top, right) administers the oath of office to re-elected president Rep. Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino (sixth from left). Also in photo are (from left) Jojo Villa, Juancho Ramores, Paquito Rivas, Jun Lomibao, Sunshine Joy Mendoza, Oscar Rodriguez, Moe Chulani, Carlos Gredonia and Alejandro Vidallo. Atty. Billy Sumagui (top, left) is reappointed secretary general.    

The Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines (PhilCycling) aims to host national championship races for road, mountain bike and BMX next year with or without the vaccine against COVID-19.

Tagaytay City Rep. Bambol Tolentino announced this following his reelection as the association’s president recently at the East Ocean Palace Restaurant in Pasay City.

Tolentino, who was also reelected Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) chief last month, said they are looking at Clark of Subic for the national championships for road, and Tagaytay City for BMX and mountain bike.

Upon approval of the Inter-Agency Task Force, the races would be conducted under a bubble setup with or without the vaccine.

“If the PBA did it in Clark, we could do the same in the same venue,” said Tolentino.

Tolentino said they will also focus on their campaigns for the 2021 Tokyo Olympics, the 31st Southeast Asian Games and the Asian Indoor and Martial Arts Games where BMX will be played.

Meanwhile, also getting reelected as association officials were Alberto Lina as chairman and Oscar “Boying” Rodriguez as vice president, while the new members of the federation board were Alejandro Vidallo (treasurer) and Engr. Greg Monreal (auditor).

Re-elected as members of the board were Jun Lomibao, Juancho Ramores, Paquito Rivas, Moe Chulani, Carlos Gredonia, Atty. Marcus Andaya and Jojo Villa.

The Philippines’ first female national road commissaire, Sunshine Joy Mendoza, was elected as a new member of the board along with Erwin Bollozos. Atty. Billy Sumagui was also reappointed secretary general.