Bren is king of MPL Season 6

Photo from Bren Esports Facebook page

Bren Esports finally captured a trophy that would justify its "#BrenLangMalakas" battle cry. 

Bren outsmarted Smart Omega, 4-2, in the grand finals of the Mobile Legends: Bang Bang Pro League-Philippines (MPL-PH) Season 6 that started on Sunday night and stretched until early Monday. 

The black and gold squad banked on its "Tzy" duo of hyper carry Karl Gabriel "KarlTzy" Nepomuceno and rookie sidelaner David "FlapTzy" Canon to seize the championship and the $25,000 (P1.2 million) lion's share of the prize pool. 

It was the first title for the Bren banner but technically a second one for the franchise, which acquired the Season 1 champion team Aether Main. 
Team veterans Angelo Kyle "Pheww" Arcangel (captain), CJ "Ribo" Ribo and Allan "Lusty" Castromayor, all part of the Philiippine team Sibol that won the gold in the SEA Games, also seized their second MPL crown. 

Former Omega standout KarlTzy, FlapTzy and sixth man EJ "Ejhay" Sambrano, on the other hand, snared their first league title. 

Coach Francis "Duckey" Glindro, who mentored the M1 and MPL Indonesia Season 5-winning squad of Evos Legends, was the mastermind behind Bren's dominant run in the regular season and the playoffs. 

Bren beat Omega in Games 1, 3, 4 and 6, with FlapTzy's impeccable play on Yu Zhong proving pivotal in the championship-winning game. 

Omega settled for the silver in its first finals appearance and bagged the runner-up prize of $13,000 (P630,000). 

Meanwhile, Execration reverse swept Onic PH, 3-2, to land in third place and run away with $7,000 (P340,000). 

Onic, which wasted away a 2-0 lead reminiscent of its collapse in the Season 4 finals against Sunsparks, took $3,000 (P145,000).