Tagaytay-bound tourists from Metro Manila, Batangas borders still need travel pass

As Cavite opened its borders for tourists planning to go to Tagaytay City, the Joint Task Force COVID Shield reminded the public that they will still be required to present a Travel Authority if they would come from areas under the General Community Quarantine (GCQ) or higher quarantine status.

Lt. Gen. Guillermo Eleazar (PNP / MANILA BULLETIN / FILE PHOTO)

Police Lt. Gen. Guillermo Lorenzo Eleazar, commander of the JTF COVID Shield, said the travel restrictions for those coming from areas under GCQ and higher quarantine status is meant to protect Tagaytay City from possible coronavirus mass infection.

One of the two requirements for the Travel Authority is a Medical Clearance Certificate from the city or municipal health office to make sure that the traveler is free from COVID-19.

“Local tourists who would come from areas under General Community Quarantine (GCQ), Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ), and Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) are still required to secure a Travel Authority,” said Eleazar.

He, however, stressed that the National Task Force on COVID-19 is still giving the LGUs the discretion in implementing rules that would manage and control the entry of non-local residents.

“Local Government Units may or may not require a Travel Authority for entering tourists. We leave the decision to them for as long the travel protocols are still observed when they open their borders to tourists,” said Eleazar.

Aside from Tagaytay City, some LGUs are also reportedly planning to open their borders to tourists in a bid to revive the local economy.

Based on the Omnibus Guidelines issued by the Inter-Agency Task Force on the Management of the Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-MEID), only LGUs under the MGCQ status and no quarantine status are allowed to open their places for tourists.

But the Omnibus Guidelines also stipulated that the tourists who should be accommodated are those from MGCQ status and no quarantine status.

Currently, Metro Manila, Batangas, Bulacan, Tacloban City and Bacolod City are under the GCQ.  Iligan City is under ECQ.

Since Cavite is under MGCQ, Eleazar said tourists that would enter the province through Batangas and Metro Manila are required to present a Travel Authority at the border control checkpoints.

Eleazar said they are now coordinating with the Philippine National Police (PNP) in order to task police commanders to maintain coordination with their respective LGUs in terms of the entry of non-residents in their respective Areas of Responsibility (AOR).