Quezon City has most number of COVID-19 positive cases in Metro Manila

Published May 7, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Chito Chavez

Department of Interior Secretary Eduardo Año on Thursday maintained that Quezon City remains a very high risk area with over 1,000 confirmed novel coronavirus disease-2019 (COVID-19) positive cases.


He issued the statement after considering placing some cities in Metro Manila under the less strict general community quarantine (GCQ) from the more demanding enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) after May 15.

Año in an interview over ANC pointed to San Juan and Valenzuela, which showed vast improvement with regards to combatting COVID-19 pandemic.

Año said, however, that “we still have eight days to go so we wait for data analytics,” admitting the likelihood of some Metro Manila cities being downgraded into GCQ.

As of May 6, Valenzuela City has 122 confirmed cases of COVID-19, including 23 recoveries and eight deaths.

In the same period, San Juan City recorded 252 confirmed COVID-19 cases, with 37 deaths and 58 patients recoveries.

Quezon City has the most number of COVID-19 cases in Metro Manila with 1,464, including 292 deaths and 132 recoveries.

Quezon City Mayor Joy Belmonte attributed the city’s high number of COVID-19 cases to its vast area and dense population, as well as its huge number of the most vulnerable members of the society.

Dr. Rolly Cruz of the Quezon City Epidemiology and Surveillance Unit (QCESU) explained that the high number of COVID-19 cases in the city is due to its vastly improved community-based testing centers.

Insisting that the city government is on the right track in dealing with the COVID-19 crisis, Cruz said, “testing is like driving with headlights on, which is way better than driving in the dark.

“Through it, we can properly isolate and give care to our patients who tested positive,’’ he added.

Based on the latest records, Manila has 749 cases, Caloocan City 236, Las Piñas City 201, Makati City 472, Malabon City 58, Mandaluyong City 404, Marikina City 135, Muntinlupa City 176, Parañaque City 499, Pasig City 307, Taguig City 283, Pasay City 227, Pateros 24, and Navotas City 3.