No new deaths in QC, but cases surge to 583, with 83 recoveries from COVID-19

Published April 6, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Chito Chavez

There were no reported new deaths and one recovery but the novel coronavirus disease-2019 (COVID-19) cases in Quezon City continued to escalate reaching 583 up by 83 from the previous 500 as of 7 p.m. of April 6 based on the statistics provided by the Department of Health (DOH).

The total number of COVID-19 deaths remained at 34 as of 7 p.m. of April 6 while the tally of recoveries is now at 15 as of 7 p.m. of April 4.

From 458 confirmed cases with complete addresses the figure jumped to 557, now up by 99.

From the previous 336 cases the Quezon City Epidemiology and Surveillance Unit (QCESU) and the District Health Offices (DHO) has now 469 validated cases which is higher by 133 .

The Quezon City Health Department (QCHD) explained that the disparity in the figures of the confirmed cases is due to the database access given by the DOH to the city government.

Raw data from the DOH remains subject to the validation of the QCESU, health center staff, and barangay officials to ensure the accuracy of the statistics with regards to the actual residence of the patients with corrections being made when the need arises.

The additional cases with complete addresses which are still up for validation are from the following barangays:

District 1: Phil-am, 1; Salvacion, 1 and West Triangle, 2.

District 2: Batasan Hills, 1.

District 3: Escopa III, 1 and Quirino, 2C.

District 4: Immaculate Concepcion, 1; Pinyahan, 2 patients and South Triangle, 1.

District 6: Culiat, 1; New Era, 1; Sauyo, 1 and Tandang Sora, 1.

Affected barangays with COVID-19 cases as validated by the QCHD

District 1- 98: Alicia, 1; Bagong Pag-Asa, 5; Bahay Toro, 14; Balingasa, 1; Bungad, 2; Damayan, 1; Del Monte, 3; Katipunan, 2; Lourdes, 4; Maharlika, 3; Manresa, 6; Mariblo, 5; Masambong, 1; Paltok, 5; Phil-am, 3; Project 6, 2; Ramon
Magsaysay, 3; Salvacion, 2; San Antonio, 2;
San Isidro Labrador, 3; San Jose, 3; Siena, 3; Sta. Cruz, 1; Sta. Teresita, 1; Sto. Cristo, 6; Sto. Domingo, 7; Veterans Village, 5 and
West Triangle, 4.

District 2- 45: Bagong Silangan, 6; Batasan Hills, 21; Commonwealth, 6; Holy Spirit, 9 and Payatas, 3.

District 3- 95: Bagumbayan, 3; Bagumbuhay, 2; Blue Ridge A, 2; Blue Ridge B, 1; Camp Aguinaldo, 4; Dioquino Zobel 1; Duyan-duyan, 2; E. Rodriguez, 8; East Kamias, 1; Escopa 1, 1; Escopa 3, 1; Libis, 1; Loyola Heights, 4; Marilag, 5; Masagana, 1; Matandang Balara, 22; Milagrosa, 2; Pansol, 5; Quirino 2A, 3;
Quirino 2C, 2; San Roque, 8; Silangan, 2;
Socorro, 5; Ugong Norte, 5; West Kamias, 1 and White Plains, 3.

District 4- 134: Bagong Lipunan ng Crame, 11; Botocan, 1; Central, 8; Damayang Lagi, 5; Don Manuel, 4; Dona Aurora, 2; Dona Imelda, 4; Horseshoe, 2; Immaculate Concepcion, 6; Kalusugan, 4; Kamuning, 4;
Kaunlaran, 3; Kristong Hari, 5; Krus na Ligas, 1; Laging Handa, 3; Malaya, 2; Mariana, 6; Obrero, 1; Paligsahan, 4; Pinagkaisahan, 2; Pinyahan, 8; Roxas, 1;
Sacred Heart, 5; Santol, 1; San Isidro Galas, 5; San Martin de Porres, 2; Sikatuna Village, 1; South Triangle, 11; Tatalon, 10; Teachers Village East, 1; Teachers Village West, 2; UP Campus, 2; UP Village, 3 and Valencia, 4.

District 5: 36: Bagbag, 4; Fairview, 6; Greater Lagro, 1; Gulod, 1; Kaligayahan, 3;
North Fairview, 4; Novaliches Proper, 7;
Pasong Putik, 1; San Agustin, 1; San Bartolome, 6 and Sta. Monica, 2.

District 6- 61: Apolonio Samson, 2; Balon Bato, 1; Culiat, 13; New Era, 6; Pasong Tamo, 13; Sangandaan, 1; Sauyo, 2; Talipapa, 4 and Tandang Sora 19.

Extreme Enhanced Community Quarantine (EECQ)

As previously explained by Mayor Joy Belmonte, the city government will enforce the EECQ in barangays with two or more confirmed COVID-19 cases and in different streets and/or in congested urban poor areas where fast transmission is most likely.

However, this is subject to the daily review depending on the number of cases / recoveries.

The newly reported barangays with two cases have not yet been included in
the list as they are still undergoing validation.

As of 7 p.m. of April 6, the Quezon City government has implemented the EECQ in the following barangays:

Tandang Sora, Kalusugan, Ramon Magsaysay, Maharlika, Tatalon, Batasan Hills, Pasong Tamo, Central, San Roque, Paligsahan, agong Lipunan ng Crame, South Triangle, Culiat, Bahay Toro, E. Rodriguez, San Isidro Labrador, Matandang Balara, Teachers Village West, Manresa (added on April 6), Paltok (added on April 6), Sto. Domingo (April 6), Bagong Silangan (added on April 6), Holy Spirit (added on ), Payatas (added on April 6), Marilag (added on April 6), Socorro (added on April 6), Kamuning (added on April 6), Pinyahan (added on April 6) and San Isidro Galas (added on April 6).

Decontamination Efforts

The Quezon City Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office and the Quezon City Fire Department have continuously disinfected the city’s streets and highways.

As of April 6, 533 locations in the city’s 142 barangays were disinfected as part of the continuous simultaneous decontamination operations.

Mandatory Wearing of Face Masks in Public Places

Belmonte issued Executive Order No. 25, Series of 2020 that compels residents to wear any form of face masks that will cover the nose and mouth in all of the city’s public places to help prevent the spread of the coronavirus.

She added the city government will provide boxes of face masks to its enforcers that will be distributed to the people in public places who are not wearing one in compliance with the order.