DOJ expected to release resolution on sedition case vs Robredo this month

Published February 8, 2020, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

By Jeffrey Damicog

The Department of Justice (DOJ) is expected to release within the month the resolution of the sedition complaint against Vice President Maria Leonor “Leni” Robredo and her co-respondents concerning their alleged involvement in the “Ang Totoong Narcolist” videos.

Department of Justice (MANILA BULLETIN)
Department of Justice (MANILA BULLETIN)

The Office of the Prosecutor General (OPG) confirmed that it has received for approval this week the draft resolution of the case.

Likewise, the office of Senior Assistant State Prosecutor Olivia Torrevillas also confirmed that the draft resolution was submitted this week to Prosecutor General Benedicto Malcontento for approval.

A DOJ panel of prosecutors chaired by Torrevillas concluded last September 12 the preliminary investigation of the complaint that was filed by the Philippine National Police-Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (PNP-CIDG).

The case stemmed from the “Ang Totoong Narcolist” video series which accused a number of personalities including members of the Duterte family as being involved in illegal drugs activities.

The complaint was filed based on the testimonies of Peter Joemel Advincula who admitted being the hooded “Bikoy” in the viral videos.

In its complaint, the PNP-CIDG accused 36 respondents including Robredo of having committed sedition, inciting to sedition, cyber libel, libel, estafa, harboring a criminal, and obstruction of justice.

The PNP-CIDG said Advicula was allegedly engaged by the respondents for a destabilization plot called “Project Sodoma” to “spread lies against the President, his family and close associate, making them to appear as illegal trade protectors and how they earned staggering amounts of money.”

Aside from Robredo and Advincula, the respondents named in the complaint include Senators Ana Theresia “Risa” Hontiveros and Leila de Lima as well as former Senator Antonio Trillanes IV.

The opposition’s losing “Otso Diretso” 2019 senatorial candidates were also named as respondents, namely, former Magdalo party-list Rep. Gary Alejano, former Solicitor General Florin Hilbay, Robredo’s election lawyer Romulo Macalintal, former Senator Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino, former Quezon Rep. Lorenzo Tanada III, and Samira Gutoc-Tomawis.