Seafarers’ families world meet slated on Aug. 14-15 at Manila Hotel

Published July 25, 2019, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

Families of Filipino seafarers here and abroad are slated to meet on Aug. 14-15 at the Fiesta Pavilion of the historic and prestigious Manila Hotel with President Rodrigo Roa Duterte as guest of honor and keynote speaker.

The two-day confab is organized by Gig and Amazing Sampaguita Foundaton, Inc.(GASFI) headed by its president Ms. Marissa Oca, a daughter of top icon in the country’s maritime industry, and seafaring community, master mariner Capt. Gregorio S. Oca. Ms. Oca will deliver the welcome remarks. Ms. Kate Higginbottom, head of trust of International Federation of Transport Workers (ITF) will deliver her message, after Ms. Oca’s.

Participating seafarer families are set to dialogue among them, with maritime resource persons to collaborate through productive and healthy undertaking leading to their empowerment to uplift the seafarer family as the “heart of the industry.”

Some 1,000 delegates were expected to attend the congress and have their presence be counted proudly in the proactive event, which will also be graced by major stakeholders in the industry – both from government and private sectors.

In the morning of Aug. 14, President Duterte is scheduled to deliver his message. He will be introduced by Dr. Conrado F. Oca, president of Associated Marine Officers’and Seamen’s Union of the Philippines. The President will then lead the ribbon-cutting rites of SFIC exposition 2019. To be assisted by Dr. Oca, Ms. Higginbottom, Ms. Marissa Oca and representatives of government and private sector partners. A tour for the splendid exhibits follows.

According to GASFI executive director Katherine G. Contreras an chief coordinator Shelly Sibya PhD, resource speakers billed for the youth session on Aug. 15, are Assoc. Prof. Jayeel Cornelio, director of development studies program at the Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU); Capt. Ma. Kristina Javellana, Pacific Ocean Manning, Inc., V. Ships; Mr. Gregg Yan, Mr. Jebsen Gamido, Ms. Divine Masinsin, Mr. Miko Legaspi, Ms. Christina S. Manzano.