Duterte names former DSWD acting chief as new DAR Usec

By Argyll Cyrus Geducos

President Duterte has named former Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) acting chief Virginia Orogo as new undersecretary at the Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR).

Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) Acting Secretary Virginia Orogo (PCOO / MANILA BULLETIN) Virginia Orogo (PCOO / MANILA BULLETIN)

Based on official Palace documents released on Wednesday, Orogo was appointed to the position on June 13. She will replace David Erro.

Orogo became DSWD's acting chief May last year, taking the place of former DSWD head Emmanuel Leyco who replaced Judy Taguiwalo when the Commission on Appointments (CA) rejected her appointment.

Orogo was replaced in the DSWD by former Army chief Rolando Bautista.

Prior to her appointment in the DAR, Orogo served as DSWD's Undersecretary for Special Concerns, ensuring that such concerns are promptly and effectively addressed.

Other appointments

Meanwhile, Duterte also signed on June 13 the appointment of Aldrin Darilag as new Commission on Higher Education (CHED) commissioner.

He will serve until July 21, 2020, replacing Prospero De Vera III who became CHED chairperson on October 12, 2018. He will serve until July 21, 2022.

De Vera replaced Patricia Licuanan who Duterte fired January last year due to alleged excessive overseas trips.

President Duterte also named Aurelio De Leon as a member of the Philippine Racing Commission, representing the Racehorse Owners' Association.

De Leon will serve for four years, replacing Ramon Bagatsing Jr.