Bong gets into Magic 12, pushes out Bam

Published May 17, 2019, 10:44 PM

by Ellalyn De Vera & Richa Noriega

By Jeffrey Damicog

Former Senator Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. pushed out reelectionist Senator Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino from the top 12 senatorial candidates according to the latest partial and official results posted by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) en banc sitting as National Board of Canvassers.

As of past 7:16 p.m. Friday, Aquino fell to the 13th spot with 13,384,293 votes based on the 146 certificates of canvass (COC) received by the NBOC.

He got eased out from the 12th spot by former Senator Ramon “Bong” Revilla who for the first time managed to get into the top 12.

The rankings in the rest of the top 12 senatorial candidates remain unchanged since the NBOC last posted its partial and unofficial results on Thursday night.

Reelectionist Senator Cynthia Villar remains on top with 23,610,580 votes.

The others in the list are Sen. Grace Poe who received 20,711,849 votes; Christopher “Bong” Go, 19,030,884; Pia Cayetano, 18,550,012; Ronaldo “Bato” Dela Rosa, 17,567,258; Edgardo “Sonny” Angara, 17,027,333; Lito Lapid, 15,778,223; Imee Marcos, 14,775,948; Francis Tolentino, 14,387,602; Sen. Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel, 13,563,083; and Sen. Nancy Binay, 13,453,117.

While those tailing Aquino are half-brothers Sen. Joseph Victor “JV” Ejercito who got 13,344,417 votes and former Sen. Jinggoy Estrada who got 10,512,191 votes.

The canvassing is set to resume today (Saturday, May 18) as the NBOC has to canvass 21 more COCs out of the 167 total COCs.

The NBOC started to officially canvass the votes for senators and partylist groups, Tuesday at the PICC in Pasay City.

Among the COCs that were canvassed in the last few days came from Makati City, Mandaluyong City, Las Pinas City, Muntinlupa City, Quezon City, Sorsogon, Ilocos Norte, Marinduque, Lapu-Lapu City, Camiguin, Iligan City, Agusan del Norte, Singapore, Greece, Bahrain, Zambales, Southern Leyte, San Juan City, Iloilo City, Qatar, Ifugao, Brunei Darussalam, Benguet, Occidental Mindoro, Dinagat Island, Pasay City, Mt. Province, Baguio City, Republic of Korea, Biliran, Capiz, Manila, Negros Oriental and Nueva Vizcaya.

Other COCs came from Antique, Catanduanes, Batanes, Cebu City, Spain, Sultan Kudarat, Abra, Kalinga, Ilocos Sur, Caloocan, Romblon, New Zealand, Italy, South Cotabato, Davao del Norte, Masbate, Nueva Ecija, Zamboanga Sibugay, Marikina City, Laguna, Vatican, New Delhi, Myanmar, Yangoon;Prague, Hague, Berlin, Indonesia, Hanoi, Cairo, Brasilia, Dhaka, Malabon, Malaysia, Davao City, Aklan, Port Morsby, Islamabad, Phnom Penh, Pasig, The Sultanate of Oman, China, Taiwan, Taguig Pateros, Lanao del Norte, Australia, Dili, CLAV (Committee on Local Absentee Voting), Paranaque, Surigao del Sur, Quirino, Lebanon, Tel Aviv, Camarines Sur,Saranggani and La Union to mention a few.

Cynthia Villar (NP) 23610580
Grace Poe (Ind) 20711849
Bong Go (PDP-Laban) 19030884
Pia Cayetano (NP) 18550012
Bato Dela Rosa (PDP-Laban) 17567258
Edgardo Sonny Angara (LDP) 17027333
Lito Lapid (NPC) 15778223
Imee Marcos (NP) 14775948
Francis Tolentino (PDP-Laban) 14387602
Koko Pimentel (PDP-Laban) 13563083
Nancy Binay (UNA) 13453117
Ramon Bong Revilla Jr, (LAKAS) 13442578
Benigno Bam Aquino (LP) 13384293
JV Ejercito (NPC) 13344417
Jinggoy Estrada (PMP) 10512191
Mar Roxas (LP) 9307456