Istorya ng Pag-asa names film festival judges

Published May 15, 2019, 5:37 PM

by AJ Siytangco

By Raymund Antonio

An esteemed panel of judges from the film and entertainment industry will choose the best short film for this year’s Istorya ng Pag-asa (Story of hope) Film Festival organized by the Office of the Vice President.

In an announcement posted on its Facebook page, INPFF organizers revealed that all five judges will be coming back for the film festival’s second leg.


The panel of judges is composed of Film Development Council of the Philippines Liza Diño-Seguerra, actress Sharmaine Centenera-Buencamino, and screenwriter Doy del Mundo Jr. Filmmakers Dan Villegas and Quark Henares are set to judge the film festival as well.

They will determine the Best Film among the top 10 finalists during the 2019 INPFF gala night and awarding ceremony on June 8.

The top 10 finalists are Breaking Through The Darkness by Ronald James Baculo, Maestro Ng Pag(b)asa by Immaculate Estepa, Litratista by Allan Lazaro, Obra by Geneva Bernal Malit, and Modern Day Hero by Roy Robert Rusiana.

Also included are Hijabs and Hopes in Quiapo by Demie Dangla, Maglabay RA in Sakit by Mijan Jumalon, Yapak by Romel Mondragon Lozada, White Helmet Rescuers by Analisa Puod, and Ka Dodoy by Margaret Serranilla.

On its second year, INPFF organizers offer bigger prizes to participants, whose short films would also have the chance to be shown at Ayala Malls Cinemas.

This year’s winner for Best Film will take home P80,000 while the first and second runners-up will get P50,000 and P30,000, respectively.

Apart from these, special prizes will also be given away for Best Script, Best Director, and Best Cinematography as well as a People’s Choice Award and a special award from Ayala Foundation.

“It is our hope that through Istorya ng Pag-asa—lalo na iyong Istorya ng Pag-asa Film Festival—Filipinos will be united around the common values of hope, of perseverance, deep faith, and the goodness of humanity. Because those are really the underlying theme of every story,” Vice President Leni Robredo said.

Robredo’s office had received more short film entries for this year’s INPFF. This was higher than the 73 entries submitted by various filmmakers in 2018.