7 tectonic quakes shake Siargao Island

Published April 25, 2019, 10:19 AM

by AJ Siytangco

By Mike Crismundo

BUTUAN CITY – Seven mild earthquakes shook Siargao Island Thursday morning, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) said.

The strongest was the 3.4 magnitude earthquake that struck the town of General Luna, Siargao Island, Surigao del Norte province, on Thursday morning. The tremor was recorded at 5:09 a.m. and its epicenter was plotted 54 kilometers (km) southeast of that country’s surfing capital town of General Luna, with a depth of 10 km., the state agency said in its bulletin.

Magnitude 2.8, 2.5, 2.7, 1.7 and 1.8 earthquakes were also registered on Thursday morning in General Luna town, Siargao Island, Surigao del Norte province.

At 4:58 a.m. on the same day, a 2.7 magnitude tremor was also registered and its epicenter was located 12 km southwest of Socorro town of that same Siargao Island, with a depth of 27 km, Phivolcs also said, in its bulletin.

On Wednesday night, a 4.0 magnitude earthquake was also registered at 10:54 p.m. and its epicenter was traced 60 km southeast of that same General Luna town, Siargao Island, with a shallow depth of only 6 km.

All the seven tremors were tectonic in origin and the state agency did not raise a tsunami alert.

The Surigao del Norte provincial disaster risk reduction and management council (DRRMC) there reported no damage or injury.

Rescue teams of the Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council were alerted by Surigao del Norte Gov. Sol F. Matugas due to the series of mild tremors.