Palawan Petron karting winners

Published April 22, 2019, 12:00 AM

by manilabulletin_admin

John Dizon dominated Round 1 and Miguel Quinones ruled Round 2 as they stole the thunder from pre-race favorite Bianca Bustamante in the back-to-back kickoff legs of the 2019 Petron Blaze 100 GP Super Karting Series before a huge crowd at the Palawan International Circuit recently.

Dizon, karting’s 2018 Golden Wheel awardee from Edgesport Racing, showed up Bustamante in the two qualifying heats before topping the 19-lap final around the 1.2-kilometer Puerto Princesa track in 19 minutes and 44.207 seconds to clinch the ROK GP overall and senior titles.

But Quinones, a junior entry, made up for his laid-back showing in Round 1 with devilishly sleek driving in the next day’s Round 2, which he topped by 19.291 seconds over Jennifer Tumambing with a time of 19:45.203.

Miguel Judd Angeles swept the two qualifying heats and then timed 13:59.346 in the 12-lap finals to pip Melwin Tan by 0.323 of a second and Brice Vincent Baisa by 1.710 for the Mini ROK title in Round 1. Angeles returned to the track the next day to extend his unbeaten streak to six races with a winning time of 13:53.749 in Round 2 with Tan, Baisa and Michael Xander Perez again finishing behind him in that order.

But Formula Cadet Expert entry Brice Baisa showed he was a cut above the rest in the combined race with the Formula Cadet Novice class, sweeping two time trials, all four qualifying heats and the two 9-lap finals in 10:59.064 and 10:53.471.

Mariano Axel Nocom checked in second in both rounds, 7.320 and 10.08 seconds off Baisa to bag the twin Cadet Novice titles, followed by Vortex Suba (12.503 off), Xeane Oliver Fredeluces and Euan Seno in Round 1 and by Suba again (10.420 off), Perez and Fredeluces in Round 2.