Duterte to grace graduation of 201 PNPA cadets

Published March 21, 2019, 3:57 PM

by Patrick Garcia

By Aaron Recuenco

President Duterte is expected to grace tomorrow’s graduation of 201 cadets of the Philippine National Police Academy (PNPA) wherein six female graduates made it to the top 10.

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte delivers his speech during the 9th anniversary of the Mindanao Development Authority (MinDA) and the 25th anniversary of the Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) at the SMX Convention Center in Davao City on February 19, 2019. (ALBERT ALCAIN/PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO / MANILA BULLETIN)
President Rodrigo Roa Duterte

Sr. Supt. Bernard Banac, spokesman of the Philippine National Police (PNP), said there will be a total of 47 female cadets out of the 157 members o the PNPA Sansiklab Class of 2019.

Sansiklab stands for Sandigan ng Mamamayan na may Sigasig na Itaguyod ang Kapayapaan at Ipaglaban ang Bayan.
Of the total graduates, Banac said 138, including 24 female graduates, will be joining the PNP, while 41 will be absorbed by the Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP).

On the other hand, 15 will be joining the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP)

Although it is named PNPA, its graduates have the option to choose from among the three agencies where they would want to serve.

The PNP leadership has been pushing to take over the supervision and control of the PNPA from the Philippine Public Safety College (PPSC).

This year, Cordillera Administrative Region will have the most number of graduates with 29, followed by the National Capital Region with 26.

Cadet Jervis Allen Ramos, of Tondo, Manila is this year’s Class Valedictorian. He will receive the President and Chie PNP’s Kampilan Awards.

He will be followed by Merriefin Carisusa, of Madellin Cebu, as class salutatorian. She will receive the Vice President Kampilan.

The other honor graduates who landed in the Top 10 are Mary Grace Pabilario, of San Enrique, Negros Occidental; Ferdinand Mark Lagchana, of Mayoyao, Ifugao; Ciara Ley Capule, of M’lang, North Cotabato; Mary Ann delos Santos, of Alcala, Cagayan; Anna May Mangabo, of San Jose Occiental Mindoro; Salvador Pidlaoan, of Calasiao, Pangasinan; Jake Sawey, of Lamut, Ifugao; and, Sarwin Sernio, of Paco, Manila.