Makati City to open satellite realty tax payment centers on July 3

Published June 30, 2018, 8:31 PM

by Roel Tibay

By Jel Santos

Satellite realty tax payment centers will be open in villages in Makati City starting July 3, the local government announced recently.

MB File – Makati Mayor Abigail Binay. (KJ ROSALES) | Manila Bulletin
Abigail Binay
(KJ ROSALES / Manila Bulletin)

The Office of the City Treasurer said the payment centers will open on scheduled dates to cater for real property owners with taxes due this third quarter. This will make it easier for taxpayers in Makati to pay.

Mayor Abigail Binay said the payment centers will be open from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. to accept payments, saying axpayers only need to present their previous receipt and pay the taxes due to receive an electronic receipt. Each transaction usually takes a maximum of five minutes.

“We encourage real property owners in the city to take note of the date when the satellite payment center will be opened in their barangay so that they need not go to City Hall. It will save them time, money and energy,” she said.

On July 3, the payment centers will be opened in Barangays Bel-Air and Urdaneta, followed by Dasmariñas and Forbes Park on July 4.

Meanwhile, the schedule for the rest of the week is as follows: July 5, Brgys. Magallanes and San Lorenzo; and July 6, Brgys. Bangkal, Pio del Pilar, San Isidro, Palanan, and San Antonio.

The following week, the payment centers will be open to serve taxpayers, as follows: July 10 (Tuesday), Brgys. La Paz, Sta. Cruz, Singkamas, Tejeros, and Carmona. ; July 11 (Wednesday), Kasilawan, Olympia, Valenzuela, Poblacion and Guadalupe Viejo; July 12 (Thursday), Guadalupe Nuevo, Pinagkaisahan, Pitogo, Cembo and South Cembo; and July 13 (Friday), West Rembo, East Rembo, Comembo, Pembo and Rizal.

As per the city’s Revenue Code, Makati City offers a five percent discount for quarterly payments made during the first 20 days of the quarter (July 20 for the third quarter). But late quarterly payments will incur a penalty of two percent per month.

The local government said the program covers 31 barangays in the city, excluding the two disputed barangays.