5 members leave K-pop group Cosmic Girls 

K-pop group Cosmic Girls (aka WJSN) have been reorganized after five members left due to the expiration of their contracts. 

On March 3, Starship Entertainment, Cosmic Girls’ agency, announced that it renewed contracts with eight of the 13 members of the group. 


Cosmic Girls (Facebook)
Cosmic Girls in Manila in 2017 (Jonathan Hicap)

“First of all, we would like to express our deep gratitude once again to the domestic and international friends who continue to support and love WJSN,” it said. 

It added, “Starship Entertainment recently re-signed contracts with eight members of its artist Cosmic Girls: Exy, Seola, Bona, Soobin, Eun-Seo, Yeoreum, Dayoung, and Yeonjung.

“The company and members Luda and Dawon have been honest and had in-depth discussions for a long time, but unfortunately, the exclusive contract has come to an end. We would like to express our deep gratitude to Luda and Dawon for their hard work and dedication. We respect the choices of Luda and Dawon, and we will support and support them in their new activities and the way forward,” Starship said. 

It said, “In addition, we would like to inform you that the three members of Yuehua Entertainment, Xuanyi, Cheng Xiao, and Meiqi, who worked with Cosmic Girls, will automatically terminate their contracts as Cosmic Girls.”

“We promise to make every effort to make WJSN's activities and members' activities shine more brightly in various fields, and to provide full and systematic support generously for the members who have signed new contracts based on mutual trust and trust that we have built up over the years. We ask for warm encouragement and support for the WJSN members who are standing in front of a new starting line,” it said. 

Cosmic Girls debuted in February 2016.