Ginebra duo Japeth Aguilar, Scottie Thompson take command in All-Star poll

Japeth Aguilar has taken over the top spot while Scottie Thompson solidified his place in second following the second voting returns for the PBA All-Stars in Passi City, Iloilo set on Mar. 9 to 12.

Japeth Aguilar now leads the poll while Scottie Thompson solidifies his place at the second spot. (PBA Images)

Aguilar dislodged the previous top vote-getter June Mar Fajardo after amassing a total of 190,273 votes while Thompson kept his hold in the second spot with 186,187 votes in the latest tally released by the PBA on Wednesday, Feb. 8, including the votes casted by the fans from Feb. 1 to 7.

Fajardo dropped to the third spot with 183,903 votes followed by Ginebra’s Jamie Malonzo and Magnolia’s Calvin Abueva at the fourth and fifth spots with 174,112 and 172,383 votes, respectively.

Another surprising movement in the latest poll was the rise of Rain or Shine guard Gian Mamuyac who landed at the sixth spot after placing outside the Top 24 in the first tally. He garnered a total of 170,359 votes for the sixth spot, besting teammate James Yap who placed seventh with 170,313.

Christian Standhardinger (169,718), CJ Perez (169,036) and LA Tenorio (166,317) rounded up the top 10 in the list.

Stanley Pringle (163,595), Paul Lee (156,482), Jayson Castro (155,800), Terrence Romeo (155,651), Robert Bolick (150,241), Mark Barroca (147,995), Jeremiah Gray (146,966), Marcio Lassiter (145,335), Roger Pogoy (145,274), Arvin Tolentino (144,439), Chris Newsome (144,422), Mikey Williams (142,810), Kevin Alas (137,626), and Gabe Norwood (137,445) completed the Top 24.

In the coaches' race, Ginebra coach Tim Cone still leads the poll with 224,430 votes followed by Rain or Shine coach Yeng Guiao with 208,429.

Mamuyac also leads the votes in the Rookie-Sophomore-Seniors game with 205,616 votes followed by the Ginebra duo of Malonzo (194,340) and Gray (179,800). Tolentino (171,840) and Calvin Oftana (171,840) completed the top 5.

Others who are in the Top 20 list include Shaun Ildefonso (170,635), Justin Arana (166,968), Aaron Black (166,539), Tyler Tio (165,989), Mikey Williams (165,778), Jerrick Ahanmisi (162,471), Brandon Rosser (152,100), Jerrick Balanza (151,865), RK Ilagan (151,145), Allyn Bulanadi (150,521), Isaac Go (148,919), Mike Nieto (146,878), Matt Nieto (146,583), Joshua Munzon (146,286), and Anton Asistio (146,058).