Two more Iloilo towns placed under red zone status due to African swine fever

ILOILO CITY – The Iloilo government has extended the red zones in two new towns after African swine fever was detected in their hogs.

In an executive order released on Tuesday, Feb. 7, Iloilo Governor Arthur Defensor Jr. extended ASF red zones to the towns of Batad and San Dionisio, raising to 15 the number of Iloilo towns that are now under the status.

Under red zone status, there is a ban on the transportation and trading of live hogs, pork, or pork-based products in and out of the two towns in the northern part of Iloilo province.

Defensor instructed the Iloilo Provincial Veterinarian Office (IPVO) to coordinate with the local government units (LGUs) of Batad and San Dionisio to curb the spread of ASF.

The red zone status also remains in the towns of Oton, San Miguel, Leganes, New Lucena, Alimodian, Santa Barbara, Mina, Barotac Nuevo, Dumangas, Banate, Janiuay, Barotac Viejo, and Dingle.

With the latest cases, all five different districts of Iloilo province now have hogs infected with ASF.