House makes gesture of friendship ahead of Vietnam exec’s visit

Published November 22, 2022, 6:14 AM

by Ellson Quismorio

The House of Representatives has adopted a resolution seeking to effectively boost cooperation between the Philippines and Vietnam through the establishment of the Philippine-Vietnam Parliamentarians’ Friendship Society.

Vietnam National Assembly President Vuong Dinh Hue’s welcome banner outside the House of Representatives in Quezon City (Ellson Quismorio/ MANILA BULLETIN)

House Resolution (HR) No. 571 was adopted by the plenary during session Monday night, Nov. 21.

This gesture was done ahead of the Philippine visit of Vietnam National Assembly President Vuong Dinh Hue, who will be hosted by the House led by Speaker and Leyte 1st district Rep. Martin Romualdez.

The resolution effectively solidifies the existing exchange of visits program by both countries’ respective parliamentarians and further strengthened the ties between the two nations by designating the officials and members of the parliamentarian society.

“It is the mutual desire of the Philippines and Vietnam to deepen and broaden their joint efforts towards the attainment of regional peace and prosperity, foster mutual understanding and cooperation and further strengthen the ties of friendship and solidarity between them through the friendship society,” read HR No.571.

The resolution added that the Philippines and Vietnam, which have a longstanding friendship, “have pledged to continue the exchange of visits by their respective parliamentarians”.

It was on July 12, 1976 when the diplomatic relations between the Philippines and Vietnam were established through the efforts of then-Philippine Foreign Minister Carlos Romulo and then-Vietnamese Vice Prime Minister for Foreign Affairs Phan Hien

Romualdez, Majority Leader and Zamboanga City 2nd district Rep. Manuel Jose “Mannix” Dalipe, Minority Leader and 4Ps Party-list Rep. Marcelino Libanan, Senior Deputy Majority Leader and Ilocos Norte 1st district Rep. Ferdinand Alexander “Sandro” Marcos, and Tingog Party-list Reps. Yedda Marie Romualdez and Jude Acidre introduced HR No.571.