Official list of candidates for next UP President released 

The Board of Regents (BOR) of the University of the Philippines (UP) has approved the nominations of six official candidates for the position of next UP President.

(Photo from

UP, in a statement issued Thursday, Oct. 20, announced the six official candidates for the next UP President who will succeed UP President Danilo Concepcion.

The nominees are Dr. Patrick Alain T. Azanza, Atty. Salvador B. Belaro, Jr., Atty. Angelo A. Jimenez, Dr. Fidel R. Nemenzo, Dr. Benito M. Pacheco, and Dr. Fernando C. Sanchez, Jr.

The UP BOR released the official list during a special meeting on Oct. 19. The nominees were approved after the BOR conducted preliminary screening and evaluation of the nominees based on the minimum requirements previously announced.

UP also announced that a public forum will be held on Nov. 11 where all six UP presidential candidates will present their plans and programs and respond to questions from the UP constituency.

The public forum will be held at Cine Adarna, UP Diliman, and will be live-streamed to all constituent units.