Cebu City to donate P50 M to Abra, other quake-hit areas

Published August 13, 2022, 3:09 PM

by Calvin Cordova 

CEBU CITY – This city will donate P50 million to quake-hit areas in Northern Luzon.

This financial assistance was approved during a virtual special session by the City Council Friday, August 12.

“As requested by the mayor, let us approve this so we can extend our help to the disaster-stricken areas,” said Councilor Noel Wenceslao who moved for the passage of the donation.

The money will come from the Quick Response Fund (QRF) of the Cebu City Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council (CCDRRMC).

Several areas in Abra sustained damage after a magnitude-7 quake last July 27.

Because the province sustained the most damage among quake-hit areas, Abra will get the biggest chunk of the donation at P25 million.

The cities of Vigan, Candon, San Fernando, Baguio, and Tabuk will receive P3 million each.

The towns of Tayum, Bangued, and Bucay in Abra; Caoayan in Ilocos Sur, and Kabayan, Benguet will get P2 million each.

Mayor Michael Rama will lead the Cebu City delegation that will personally deliver the assistance to Abra.