PRO2 cops three major awards during 121st PSA celebration in Camp Crame

Published August 8, 2022, 11:21 PM

by Liezle Basa Iñigo

CAGAYAN — The Police Regional Office 2 (PRO2) clinched three major awards during the 121st Police Service Anniversary celebration held at the Philippine National Police National Headquarters in Camp Rafael Crame, Quezon City on Monday, August 8.

Police Colonel Renell R Sabaldica, Provincial Director, Cagayan Police Provincial Office

President Marcos Jr. personally awarded the medal and a trophy to Police Colonel Renell R Sabaldica, Provincial Director of Cagayan Police Provincial Office (CPPO) during the celebration that had ‘Strong Police-Community Partnership, Toward Unity, Peace and Progress’ as its theme.

Colonel Sabaldica was adjudged as Best Senior Police Commissioned Officer for Administration while the Cagayan PPO was named Best Police Provincial Office.

Colonel Sabaldica is a proud member of Philippine National Police Academy (PNPA) ‘Kabalikat’ Class of 1998.

During his assumption as Provincial Director of Cagayan PPO on June 24, 2021, he introduced the Team Cagayan PPO 9-Point Program Thrust which served as his anchor in leading the over 2,000 men and women of Cagayan PPO.

PD Sabaldica was also awarded as Outstanding Police Community Relations (PCR) Senior Police Commissioned Officer (PCO) and Cagayan PPO as Outstanding PPO for Police Community Relations in the recent culminating ceremony of 27th PCR Month.

Meanwhile, Police Staff Sergeant Arnel G. Abenoja, personnel of 1st Isabela Provincial Mobile Force Company, Isabela Police Provincial Office was adjudged as Best Junior Police Non-Commissioned Officer for Operations-Nationwide.

He dedicated his twelve years in the PNP service with his intensified campaign against insurgency and terrorism as he was assigned in most Communist Terrorist Group (CTG) influenced municipalities in Cagayan and Isabela Provinces.

With his commitment in ending local armed conflict in Cagayan Valley Region, Abenoja was accorded various recognitions and citations, including 46 ‘Medalya ng Kagalingan,’ one ‘Medalya ng Kasanayan’ and two ‘Medalya ng Papuri’ from April 1, 2021 to March 31, 2022.

PNP Chief, Police General Rodolfo S Azurin Jr. paid tribute to the fallen police officers whom he addressed as the unsung heroes who exemplified exceptional dedication to duty and unconditional love and sacrifices for the country.

Police Brigadier General Steve B. Ludan, Regional Director of Cagayan Valley Region (Region 2), also joined the other officers from the PNP National Headquarters and Police Regional Offices and guests from other government agencies.