Caperal slapped with fine as non-call hit on Newsome upgraded to F1

Published July 31, 2022, 7:59 PM

by Reynald I. Magallon

The PBA Commissioner’s Office has upgraded the initial non-call on Prince Caperal’s elbow hit on Chris Newsome to flagrant foul Penalty 1 following a review of the incident which transpired during Ginebra’s 94-87 win in Game 2 of their best-of-three quarterfinals series last Friday, July 29.

Photo from PBA

A video of the incident showing Caperal hitting an elbow to the back of the head of Newsome went viral on social media just hours after the highly physical contest.

The PBA technical committee is expected to hand a P5,000 fine on Caperal for the F1 call while referee Janine Obina, who had the vantage point to the incident, was suspended for one game.

Aside from Caperal, Christian Standhardinger and Franky Johnson were also summoned by Marcial following their pre-game commotion also in Game 2. The technical committee has yet to come up with a decision as the PBA chief hasn’t talked to Johnson who was caught in the middle of the heavy Sunday traffic before Game 3.

Marcial was also quick to remind the players to keep their emotions in check.

“Alam ko naman tuwing playoffs nagkakainitan, nanggigil, ang sabi ko sa kanila wag silang manakit. Okay lang kayo maglaro, wag ka lang mananakit,” said Marcial.

“Lagi ko sinasabi ko sa kanila, career niyo iyan, kung gusto niyo mangyari yan baka mag end ng career ng tao dahil sa inyo di ba kayo makukunsensya. Yun ang laging sinasabi ko sa kanila hanapbuhay na natin ito.”

Incidentally, Caperal was again assessed with an F1 call in the first half of Game 3 after hitting Alvin Pasaol on the back of the head during a rebound play.

 
CLICK HERE TO SIGN-UP
 

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE

["basketball","sports","sports"]
[3053016,3066035,3065736,3066042,3065730,3065686,3065624]